DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: super noob, with another question

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid

super noob, with another question

how are ya'll doing screen shots of your phone?

AND, i know this is more of an OPINION, but would you:

-stick with ROOTED 2.0.1 or 2.1

OR

-wait for 2.2 FROYO OTA update

can you please state your pros and cons. i am wanting to ROOT my phone, but i've never done something like this before, so i don't want to brick my phone...unless someone out there wants to do it for me--in the Houston, TX area. Thanks!

3. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    I use DroCap2 to take screenshots of my phone.

I'd stick with rooted 2.01 or 2.1. And if you're rooted, why don't you update to 2.2?
  4. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    well i'm not either...i'm just stock 2.1update1. just wondering if i should wait for the OTA froyo update or go ahead and root my 2.1 to 2.2.
  5. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    also, is DroCap2 an app in the market? sorry for all the questions...but thanks.
  6. Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    TBOLT / Charge
    Premium Member
    Rooting your phone is a personal choice and imo not be made lightly. There are pros and cons to rooting. I, of course, am rooted but it took me several months of reading and learning my droid stock before taking that leap. We have no idea when Verizon is going to push 2.2 out to the droids. Therefore if you are wanting all the options of 2.2 then yes root and put a 2.2 rom on your phone. When you root you do not have to go back to 2.0.1 and then root, you can gain root access from 2.1 (see my link in my signature for step by step instructions).