DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Noob here, can you root after roots?

1. Droid Newbie
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here

Noob here, can you root after roots?

Somebody rooted my droid to 2.1 (ESE53). could I simply root forward to 2.1 (ESE81) by using the SPRecovery_ESE81 in the RSD Lite? even though I'm starting the root from 2.1 (ESE53)?

Question 2 : When is it necessary to wipe all data from the phone? Because in my condition, my phone is flashed specially for Metro PCS. so i have to avoid anything that would have to make me reactivate it.
  2. Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    TBOLT / Charge
    Premium Member
    Once you are rooted you are rooted. You would just flash different roms.

In my opinion, whenever you flash a new rom you should always backup and wipe cache. That way you are applying a new rom on a clean slate.
  3. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Vargas View Post
    Somebody rooted my droid to 2.1 (ESE53). could I simply root forward to 2.1 (ESE81) by using the SPRecovery_ESE81 in the RSD Lite? even though I'm starting the root from 2.1 (ESE53)?

Question 2 : When is it necessary to wipe all data from the phone? Because in my condition, my phone is flashed specially for Metro PCS. so i have to avoid anything that would have to make me reactivate it.
    I think you're very confused about what rooting is. "Rooting" is the process of obtaining administrator-level access to the phone, ie, the ability to install system software that motorola didn't approve.