DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: I need to free up some RAM

  1. Master Droid
    serveitup911's Avatar
    Member #
    17173
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    292
    Phone
    Droid w/ some source built ROM
    #1

    I need to free up some RAM

    What are the best tricks to free up RAM?

    The home screen redraws are really getting to me, and I think it's a RAM issue.

    I use ADW and have it configured to stay in memory; I have had the same issue with launcher pro.

    I don't use too many widgets, and I only use 3 screens.

    I am rebooting more often now, but that doesn't really seem to help.

    I run Sapphire 0.8.4 with stock kernel and no theme.

    So, I am open to any hints or tricks that will free up some RAM!
  2. Master Droid
    mjforte's Avatar
    Member #
    30354
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    280
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Yeah I'm wondering the same. Its a shame they gave the Droid such little RAM
  3. Master Droid
    serveitup911's Avatar
    Member #
    17173
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    292
    Phone
    Droid w/ some source built ROM
    #3
    Bump for the night owls.

    Does anyone have suggestions?
  4. Senior Droid
    jrod2183's Avatar
    Member #
    21527
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    163
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by serveitup911 View Post
    Bump for the night owls.

    Does anyone have suggestions?
    Sapphire .8.4 comes with compcache, which is what I think your looking for. I'm guessing its an app that you turn on, theres also a way to have it load on boot. Check p. 13 (I think) for info on how to make it boot on start, and check the sapphire wiki for info on exactly what compcache does
  5. Theme Developer
    carlz28's Avatar
    Member #
    42280
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    820
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    DROID X
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #5
    I dread to even say this..but how about using a task killer?
    I know there are those who say they are worthless and those who can not live without them..
    Certainly can't hurt to give it a try.
    My name "IS" carl-- z28 is just what I drive.
    But I respond to anything....call me Tom, Richard or Harry.
  6. Droid
    darkk2b2's Avatar
    Member #
    64516
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Motorola droid
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by serveitup911 View Post
    What are the best tricks to free up RAM?

    The home screen redraws are really getting to me, and I think it's a RAM issue.

    I use ADW and have it configured to stay in memory; I have had the same issue with launcher pro.

    I don't use too many widgets, and I only use 3 screens.

    I am rebooting more often now, but that doesn't really seem to help.

    I run Sapphire 0.8.4 with stock kernel and no theme.

    So, I am open to any hints or tricks that will free up some RAM!
    I don't know what the stock kernel is in Sapphire 0.8.4 but did you try a faster one? because that really sped up my droid and fixed a lot of glitches I had.
  7. Master Droid
    serveitup911's Avatar
    Member #
    17173
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    292
    Phone
    Droid w/ some source built ROM
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by jrod2183 View Post

    Sapphire .8.4 comes with compcache, which is what I think your looking for. I'm guessing its an app that you turn on, theres also a way to have it load on boot. Check p. 13 (I think) for info on how to make it boot on start, and check the sapphire wiki for info on exactly what compcache does
    I will check out compcache, but it is my understanding that compcache would have to be restarted on each boot in its current state. I prefer not editing the init.d file, but I will utilize this when cvpcs gives it the nod to run on boot.


    Quote Originally Posted by carlz28 View Post
    I dread to even say this..but how about using a task killer?
    I know there are those who say they are worthless and those who can not live without them..
    Certainly can't hurt to give it a try.
    Well, I have tried taskkillers - I forgot to mention that in my OP - that doesn't seem to help, and neither does rebooting. The redraw can occur after running just 1 program.

    Quote Originally Posted by darkk2b2 View Post
    I don't know what the stock kernel is in Sapphire 0.8.4 but did you try a faster one? because that really sped up my droid and fixed a lot of glitches I had.
    I don't think it's a speed issue; I'm at 1 GHz, which is pretty fast. Cranking up the overclock might make the screen redraw faster, but it wouldn't get to the cause of the problem.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 3gp to avi/wmv. free way out there?
    By mikeatdroidforums in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 10:48 AM
  2. Must have apps / widget (Free and Non-Free)
    By DAGr8 in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 08:18 AM
  3. AD-FREE blockking of free apps
    By rfriel in forum LithiumMod
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 04:52 PM
  4. Free$tyle King FREE version available
    By StepDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 04:52 PM
  5. Free Eris (or close to free)
    By Dallasguy7 in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 11:34 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 2 free up ram
,
droid freeing up memory phone
,
droid more ram
,
droid x free up ram
,

free more ram droid x

,
free ram
,
free ram droid 2
,

free up ram droid

,
free up ram memory on droid how to
,

free up ram on droid x

,
free up ram on moto droid
,
free up ram on motorola droid
,
freeing up droid ram
,
freeing up ram on motorola droid
,
how do i free ram on my droid.
,
how do i free up memory on my droid
,
how do i free up more memory on my droid x
,

how to free ram on droid x

,
how to free ram on rooted droid
,

how to free up ram on droid

,

how to free up ram on droid x

,
how to free up ram on moto droid
,
how to free up ram on the droid x
,
how to open up some ram
,
motorola droid ram free up
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+