DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So I want to learn to develop for Android...

1. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here

So I want to learn to develop for Android...

This is me: college kid, no developing experience whatsoever (unless you could a basic HTML course in like 9th grade... lol), relatively intelligent, interested in technology.

What do I need to learn?

I found a "java 101" article to read here: Learn Java from the ground up - JavaWorld

Is android just Java or is there any other kind of language..? I've heard something about C++? or is that part of Java?

As you can tell, I'm a noob lol.

Then I read that I need Eclipse (what does that do again?), which one should I get (I'm on a Mac): Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers, Eclipse IDE for Java Developers, or Eclipse Classic 3.6?

Is this a bad idea considering I know nothing? Like am in way over my head?

Any other ideas or links anyone can share?

Thanks for the help!

3. Johnly
    What you are about to do could last a lifetime! Congratulations! I have found dev forums like XDA to be rich with info....good luck, and make us an killer app huh?
  4. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Quote Originally Posted by fichdak View Post
    This is me: college kid, no developing experience whatsoever (unless you could a basic HTML course in like 9th grade... lol), relatively intelligent, interested in technology.

What do I need to learn?

I found a "java 101" article to read here: Learn Java from the ground up - JavaWorld

Is android just Java or is there any other kind of language..? I've heard something about C++? or is that part of Java?

Then I read that I need Eclipse (what does that do again?), which one should I get (I'm on a Mac): Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers, Eclipse IDE for Java Developers, or Eclipse Classic 3.6?