DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 145

Thread: who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

  1. Droid
    LVGDroidFan's Avatar
    Member #
    58974
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Droid
    #31
    Sweet! Works perfectly.

    Thanks for the tip.
  2. Droid
    Boofster's Avatar
    Member #
    70853
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    Droid
    #32
    Seems some of us have a bad mapping to system commands.

    I did
    "sh pm setInstallLocation 2" from /system/bin (invoking sh for shell) and it worked.

    Wishing there was a "move all to sdcard" option. Do I really have to go through all my apps and move them one at a time?
  3. Droid Ninja
    Darkseider's Avatar
    Member #
    46256
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,869
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #33
    Quote Originally Posted by Boofster View Post
    Seems some of us have a bad mapping to system commands.

    I did
    "sh pm setInstallLocation 2" from /system/bin (invoking sh for shell) and it worked.

    Wishing there was a "move all to sdcard" option. Do I really have to go through all my apps and move them one at a time?
    Yes. Anything that displays a widget should NOT be moved to the SD card. Otherwise everything I have tried so far works fine. Hell Google Earth all 22 Meg of it loads and runs just as fast as if it were in memory.
    OG Droid w/ Pete's GPA16 w/ stock Kernel using auto OC script. (retired)

    LG G2X w/ rooted 2.3.3 leak.

    It's OK for your Droid to be different. Just be supportive and reassuring and it will do just fine. It's when you or other people point at it or mock it for being different is when its' feelings get hurt. Just show it unconditional love regardless of its' differences and it will in turn reciprocate that love and loyalty.
  4. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #34
    Quote Originally Posted by Boofster View Post
    Wishing there was a "move all to sdcard" option. Do I really have to go through all my apps and move them one at a time?
    Ummm, why would you want to do that?

    For 1, you can't use widgets if the app is on the SD card, so that cuts off a few apps right there.
    For 2, loading apps off the SD card is SLOWER than out of main memory. Not impossibly slow, but noticeable.
    For 3, what are you going to use all that extra space in /data for?

    I would suggest AGAINST moving all your apps to the SD card just for fun. You should only put apps there that are A) large in size, B). used infrequently, C). don't need to be background tasks and D). don't have widgets or anything

    For example - Games are a good choice, since they are large, don't have widgets, and you only need them while you're playing them. Google Earth and Sky Map are also good choices, since they are standalone apps that are large.
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)
  5. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #35
    Ummm... I just did this and it worked but after reboot all apps I put on sdcard lost icons on home screen (just generic android folders) and the icon are gone from app drawer!!! What gives!?

    and no they weren't widgets they were scortcuts dragged from the app drawer
  6. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #36
    OK moved all apps back to phone and all works well

    So what u can move them but unless you have the icon on your homescreen you can't use...and even the you just get a folder for an icon!!!??

    No go until there is a fix

    Am I the only one with this problem?
  7. Senior Droid
    rican408's Avatar
    Member #
    2294
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    110
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #37
    Either u have to wait for them to load from the sd card or something went wrong. Maybe try again? Mine works just fine. Been running all my apps just to play around....
  8. Droid
    spiceditup's Avatar
    Member #
    65830
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    38
    Phone
    OG Droid & Droid X
    #38
    Quote Originally Posted by tallica View Post
    OK moved all apps back to phone and all works well

    So what u can move them but unless you have the icon on your homescreen you can't use...and even the you just get a folder for an icon!!!??

    No go until there is a fix

    Am I the only one with this problem?
    same issue with my droid.
  9. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #39
    Quote Originally Posted by rican408 View Post
    Either u have to wait for them to load from the sd card or something went wrong. Maybe try again? Mine works just fine. Been running all my apps just to play around....
    Have you rebooted since moving them?
  10. Droid
    dilleyo's Avatar
    Member #
    4885
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    MOTO DROID
    #40
    so i tried everything an nothing worked an dont ask if i have root cuz im not stupid i know i do an dont ask if im running bb v.1 cuz i am but i get pm not found i also get cant open pm what am i doing wrong im using better terminal emulator pro but i guess it wont do it an iv read all the stuff that worked for other ppl but still nothin
Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New Apps from 2.2 - Froyo
    By RinTinTigger in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 04:23 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 08:53 PM
  3. Looking for 2 minor apps (Froyo)
    By vwpanda in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 03:55 PM
  4. Cant restore apps using astro on froyo
    By Fox100 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 11:41 AM
  5. Will Froyo usher in a new level of apps?
    By Omega384 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 09:23 AM

Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permission denied
,

android failed to move application

,

failed to move application froyo

,
froyo's apps to sd
,
froyoway
,
pm setinstalllocation 2 permission denied
,
setinstalllocation 2 permission denied
,
setinstalllocation permission denied
,
setinstalllocation: permission denied
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+