DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ADB on mac help???

  1. Senior Droid
    matrice0056's Avatar
    Member #
    41442
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #1

    Question ADB on mac help???

    I've been trying for several hours trying to set up ADB on my mac and I'm ready to rip my hair out!

    I tried using 2 different methods in threads here but I can't get it to work. I'm new to mac and can't figure this crap out.

    My terminal is stuck in bash or whatever and I can't proceed any further. It keeps telling me that there is no such file or directory, when there is.

    I tried changing the directory and dropping in the file but that didn't work either.

    Somebody please help...
    I'm a padawan now, some day I hope to be a Jedi...
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    ashkev843's Avatar
    Member #
    7743
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    321
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by matrice0056 View Post
    I've been trying for several hours trying to set up ADB on my mac and I'm ready to rip my hair out!

    I tried using 2 different methods in threads here but I can't get it to work. I'm new to mac and can't figure this crap out.

    My terminal is stuck in bash or whatever and I can't proceed any further. It keeps telling me that there is no such file or directory, when there is.

    I tried changing the directory and dropping in the file but that didn't work either.

    Somebody please help...
    Did you actually get it to install the sdk where a window popped up for downloading different packets, etc.? I renamed my sdk folder to android and put it on Macintosh HD. then in terminal all I have to do is cd /android/tools
    the tools folder is where the adb file should be and any other files you are trying to push onto your phone. Should look something like this after the cd command

    kevin-stubbss-macbook:~ NCSTATE$ cd /android/tools/
    kevin-stubbss-macbook:tools NCSTATE$

    then to push or pull you just have to type in ./adb push file.apk /system/app or whatever you are trying to push it to.

    got to have the ./ before any command or the mac will not recognize it.
  4. Droid
    USCChem's Avatar
    Member #
    52483
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    93
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe on a Mac you simply put the stuff somewhere in a folder. I personally put mine in my user folder (my name is Mack) so when I wanna use ADB, I just open terminal and enter:

    /Users/Mack/AndroidSDK/tools/adb

    and then a space and the command I wanna use. (I renamed the SDK folder). So to open a shell session I'd put

    /Users/Mack/AndroidSDK/tools/adb shell
    and then hit enter.

    hope that helps.
  5. Master Droid
    lumpysherman's Avatar
    Member #
    9782
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    329
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    GNex
    #4
    [quote=ashkev843;520411]
    Quote Originally Posted by matrice0056 View Post

    got to have the ./ before any command or the mac will not recognize it.
    I always forget that myself and after about an hour of banging my head on my desk I remember.
    YMB

    GNex
    Bugless Beast JB
  6. Senior Droid
    matrice0056's Avatar
    Member #
    41442
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by ashkev843 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matrice0056 View Post
    I've been trying for several hours trying to set up ADB on my mac and I'm ready to rip my hair out!

    I tried using 2 different methods in threads here but I can't get it to work. I'm new to mac and can't figure this crap out.

    My terminal is stuck in bash or whatever and I can't proceed any further. It keeps telling me that there is no such file or directory, when there is.

    I tried changing the directory and dropping in the file but that didn't work either.

    Somebody please help...
    Did you actually get it to install the sdk where a window popped up for downloading different packets, etc.? I renamed my sdk folder to android and put it on Macintosh HD. then in terminal all I have to do is cd /android/tools
    the tools folder is where the adb file should be and any other files you are trying to push onto your phone. Should look something like this after the cd command

    kevin-stubbss-macbook:~ NCSTATE$ cd /android/tools/
    kevin-stubbss-macbook:tools NCSTATE$

    then to push or pull you just have to type in ./adb push file.apk /system/app or whatever you are trying to push it to.

    got to have the ./ before any command or the mac will not recognize it.
    After reading this again I played around with it some more.

    I pasted the adb file in terminal to add a directory and then added reboot to the end as a test and my phone rebooted. Does it sound like its set now.

    Mathew-Rices-MacBook-Pro:~ mathewrice$ adb reboot
    -bash: adb: command not found
    Mathew-Rices-MacBook-Pro:~ mathewrice$ /androidsdk/tools/adb reboot - THIS REBOOTED MY PHONE.
    Mathew-Rices-MacBook-Pro:~ mathewrice$
    Last edited by matrice0056; 06-03-2010 at 10:05 PM.
    I'm a padawan now, some day I hope to be a Jedi...
  7. Droid
    USCChem's Avatar
    Member #
    52483
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    93
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    Yep, you got it!

    So then any ADB command you want to use, you would say:
    /androidsdk/tools/adb [insert command]
  8. Senior Droid
    matrice0056's Avatar
    Member #
    41442
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by USCChem View Post
    Yep, you got it!

    So then any ADB command you want to use, you would say:
    /androidsdk/tools/adb [insert command]
    Sweet! Thanks everybody. I was getting so frustrated with this.
    I'm a padawan now, some day I hope to be a Jedi...
  9. Senior Droid
    talkdj's Avatar
    Member #
    44257
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N.E. Ohio (Cleveland)
    Posts
    111
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Holy Smokes it works!!! I can't tell you how long it's taken me to get this damn thing to work. So I have to put the directory in the terminal for every command? Is there a faster way of doing this???
  10. Master Droid
    ashkev843's Avatar
    Member #
    7743
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    321
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by talkdj View Post
    Holy Smokes it works!!! I can't tell you how long it's taken me to get this damn thing to work. So I have to put the directory in the terminal for every command? Is there a faster way of doing this???
    you can use the cd command to change to the directory. then to use the adb command you just put in ./adb and then whatever you are pushing, etc.
  11. Droid
    Ryank10909's Avatar
    Member #
    103127
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    94
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #10
    So quick question, I'm able to get to the correct file path and I'm able to use ./adb commands... but my computer will NOT find my device, USB debugging is on, abd its mounted as a disk drive. I've got an HTC thunderbolt and i cant find my device at all
    and solutions.
    Phone: Motorola Droid
    ROM: Sapphire v1.0.0 w/ ADW.Launcher
    Theme: 928Droid Black Glass
    Kernel: 7x125 - 1200 SV
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

adb device not found mac

,
adb mac not working
,

adb not recognizing device mac

,
adb terminal command
,
device not recognized in adb on mac droid dna
,
mac adb command not found
,
mac adb pull
,
mac terminal device not found
,
push framework-res.apk adb codes mac
,
use adb on mac to pull files
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+