DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Finally Rooted

  1. Senior Droid
    xxlostsurferx16's Avatar
    Member #
    67478
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jerz
    Posts
    183
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #31
    Quote Originally Posted by Droidnewbster View Post
    I just rooted today have been pondering it for a while maybe like 2 months and so far so good started with BB v1.0

    BBv1.0 is clean and fast. It's a great ROM to start with.


    Rom: BB 0.4
    Kernel: chevy's ULV 1.1 Ghz
    Theme: DARK EDGE UI 2.2 beta BLUE
  2. Senior Droid
    xxlostsurferx16's Avatar
    Member #
    67478
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jerz
    Posts
    183
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #32
    You guys can also check out this thread, where people talk and describe their favorite ROMS

    your opinion on best rom out right now


    Rom: BB 0.4
    Kernel: chevy's ULV 1.1 Ghz
    Theme: DARK EDGE UI 2.2 beta BLUE
  3. Master Droid
    ohioDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26408
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    310
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #33
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    I'm also new to this and just recently rooted. I know how to backup my apps with Astro, but after I rooted and set everything up again I realized it never backed up my data, application config settings, etc.. Is there a way to do that, so after installing different roms I can put my data into those roms?
    If your using ROM manager, when you install a new ROM, select backup data before you wipe cache... This way you you can use nandroid restore from the boot recovery screen. When you restore in nandroid it will have all your apps and data already on the phone
    I just installed Rom Manager and basically every option (including Manager/Restore Backups) is grayed out.

    But you're saying that I could use this app to backup my data, install a new ROM, and then use nandroid to restore the data and I'd have a new ROM with all of my apps and data intact?
  4. Senior Droid
    Thach's Avatar
    Member #
    55189
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Forks North Dakota
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Thach2639
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #34
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    I'm also new to this and just recently rooted. I know how to backup my apps with Astro, but after I rooted and set everything up again I realized it never backed up my data, application config settings, etc.. Is there a way to do that, so after installing different roms I can put my data into those roms?
    If your using ROM manager, when you install a new ROM, select backup data before you wipe cache... This way you you can use nandroid restore from the boot recovery screen. When you restore in nandroid it will have all your apps and data already on the phone
    I just installed Rom Manager and basically every option (including Manager/Restore Backups) is grayed out.

    But you're saying that I could use this app to backup my data, install a new ROM, and then use nandroid to restore the data and I'd have a new ROM with all of my apps and data intact?
    It took me some time to figure this out too. The very first tab in RomManager says flash clockworkmod recovery. you have to do that first then everything will be available for you. i hope this helps
  5. Senior Droid
    xxlostsurferx16's Avatar
    Member #
    67478
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jerz
    Posts
    183
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #35
    Quote Originally Posted by Thach View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post

    If your using ROM manager, when you install a new ROM, select backup data before you wipe cache... This way you you can use nandroid restore from the boot recovery screen. When you restore in nandroid it will have all your apps and data already on the phone
    I just installed Rom Manager and basically every option (including Manager/Restore Backups) is grayed out.

    But you're saying that I could use this app to backup my data, install a new ROM, and then use nandroid to restore the data and I'd have a new ROM with all of my apps and data intact?
    It took me some time to figure this out too. The very first tab in RomManager says flash clockworkmod recovery. you have to do that first then everything will be available for you. i hope this helps

    You also need to buy rom manager premium if you plan on dwnloading new roms and backing up roms. BUt as he said above me you need to flash clockwork


    Rom: BB 0.4
    Kernel: chevy's ULV 1.1 Ghz
    Theme: DARK EDGE UI 2.2 beta BLUE
  6. Senior Droid
    xxlostsurferx16's Avatar
    Member #
    67478
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jerz
    Posts
    183
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #36
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    I'm also new to this and just recently rooted. I know how to backup my apps with Astro, but after I rooted and set everything up again I realized it never backed up my data, application config settings, etc.. Is there a way to do that, so after installing different roms I can put my data into those roms?
    If your using ROM manager, when you install a new ROM, select backup data before you wipe cache... This way you you can use nandroid restore from the boot recovery screen. When you restore in nandroid it will have all your apps and data already on the phone
    I just installed Rom Manager and basically every option (including Manager/Restore Backups) is grayed out.

    But you're saying that I could use this app to backup my data, install a new ROM, and then use nandroid to restore the data and I'd have a new ROM with all of my apps and data intact?
    You will if you go BACK to a ROM you have backed up. If you download a new ROM for example, you will have to redownload all your apps you had, but the contacts are synced as long as you have a google account.

    If you go BACK to an old ROM that you have backed up, all your contacts and your apps will be intact from the last time you backed it up.


    Rom: BB 0.4
    Kernel: chevy's ULV 1.1 Ghz
    Theme: DARK EDGE UI 2.2 beta BLUE
  7. Senior Droid
    Thach's Avatar
    Member #
    55189
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Forks North Dakota
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Thach2639
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #37
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post
    You guys can also check out this thread, where people talk and describe their favorite ROMS

    your opinion on best rom out right now
    Thanks for the link. I will def be checking this out.
  8. Senior Droid
    Thach's Avatar
    Member #
    55189
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Forks North Dakota
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Thach2639
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #38
    Quote Originally Posted by xxlostsurferx16 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Thach View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post

    I just installed Rom Manager and basically every option (including Manager/Restore Backups) is grayed out.

    But you're saying that I could use this app to backup my data, install a new ROM, and then use nandroid to restore the data and I'd have a new ROM with all of my apps and data intact?
    It took me some time to figure this out too. The very first tab in RomManager says flash clockworkmod recovery. you have to do that first then everything will be available for you. i hope this helps

    You also need to buy rom manager premium if you plan on dwnloading new roms and backing up roms. BUt as he said above me you need to flash clockwork
    Oh I forgot about buying the premium. Its well worth it though. I really think it make installing new ROMs really user friendly.
  9. Senior Droid
    xxlostsurferx16's Avatar
    Member #
    67478
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jerz
    Posts
    183
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #39
    Oh I forgot about buying the premium. Its well worth it though. I really think it make installing new ROMs really user friendly.[/QUOTE]

    Agreed. It definately saves you a lot of time


    Rom: BB 0.4
    Kernel: chevy's ULV 1.1 Ghz
    Theme: DARK EDGE UI 2.2 beta BLUE
  10. Senior Droid
    Thach's Avatar
    Member #
    55189
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Forks North Dakota
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Thach2639
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #40
    Is there a reason that more Devs don't use a process like RM to distribute the ROMs and things that they make?
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid finally rooted!!!
    By phamous in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 172
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 12:28 AM
  2. Finally, rooted, OC'ed, new homescreen
    By saobi in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 07:48 PM
  3. Finally rooted need assistance
    By mwhartman in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 03:47 PM
  4. Finally rooted!
    By meekless in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 10:46 AM
  5. OK ive finally rooted and got bb: 2 questions now..
    By NYZ93 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 06:56 AM

Search tags for this page

i finally rooted my droid

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+