DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Overclocking Requirements

  1. Droid
    bdholsin's Avatar
    Member #
    61989
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #1

    Overclocking Requirements

    New Droid owner and very pleased. I've been doing a LOT of reading here on the forum and have gleaned a great deal of excellent information. So far I've managed to:
    1. Make a backup using RSD Lite.
    2. Root access (very apprehensively but yet successfully).
    3. Attempted to overclock (then realized I needed a kernel).
    4. Returned to stock.

    Since returning to stock I've been scratching my head trying to figure out what ROM and kernel to get.

    My question is: Does a kernel come with a ROM? I'm just a bit fuzzy on this. I'm leaning toward Bugless' ROM but can't quite make the jump. I'm ultimately looking to overclock to 900 or 1000 Mhz and possibly remove a number of stock features that I simply don't use (like Corporate Calendar and Corporate E-mail). With that being said I was thinking of Cyanogen mod but like I said I'm not 100% certain what I need.

    Anyone want to chime in and give me a better understanding of what I'd need after rooting?

    Yeah, I've used the search feature but haven't been able to get a definitive answer to my question.

    Thanks.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by bdholsin View Post
    My question is: Does a kernel come with a ROM? I'm just a bit fuzzy on this. I'm leaning toward Bugless' ROM but can't quite make the jump. I'm ultimately looking to overclock to 900 or 1000 Mhz and possibly remove a number of stock features that I simply don't use (like Corporate Calendar and Corporate E-mail). With that being said I was thinking of Cyanogen mod but like I said I'm not 100% certain what I need.

    Anyone want to chime in and give me a better understanding of what I'd need after rooting?

    Yeah, I've used the search feature but haven't been able to get a definitive answer to my question.

    Thanks.
    Most ROMs will require a separate kernel. I'm running BB and Bekit with no problems.

    If I were in your position, I'd start with ROM Manager and Cyanogen, just to see what the process is, and branch out from there.
  4. Droid
    bdholsin's Avatar
    Member #
    61989
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bdholsin View Post
    My question is: Does a kernel come with a ROM? I'm just a bit fuzzy on this. I'm leaning toward Bugless' ROM but can't quite make the jump. I'm ultimately looking to overclock to 900 or 1000 Mhz and possibly remove a number of stock features that I simply don't use (like Corporate Calendar and Corporate E-mail). With that being said I was thinking of Cyanogen mod but like I said I'm not 100% certain what I need.

    Anyone want to chime in and give me a better understanding of what I'd need after rooting?

    Yeah, I've used the search feature but haven't been able to get a definitive answer to my question.

    Thanks.
    Most ROMs will require a separate kernel. I'm running BB and Bekit with no problems.

    If I were in your position, I'd start with ROM Manager and Cyanogen, just to see what the process is, and branch out from there.
    Thanks for the suggestion. Any chance you could give me a link for each (rather than me fumble around wondering if I'm heading in the right direction)?
  5. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by bdholsin View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion. Any chance you could give me a link for each (rather than me fumble around wondering if I'm heading in the right direction)?
    I dont have links for the former, but ROM Manager is in the market as just that. CyanogenMod.com is the home of Koush.
  6. Senior Droid
    soccer568's Avatar
    Member #
    51984
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    245
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Im in the same boat as you and i rooted my phone and am now running cynanogen mod from rom manager.Once you install the rom you can download different kernels to overlcock your droid. Im am just running the stock kernel so i havent overlcocked yet?
  7. Junior Droid
    stetson1818's Avatar
    Member #
    50091
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #6
    once you get all that straight you will need an app called Setcpu to do the overclocking. its in the market for 2 bucks, used to be 99 cent
  8. Droid
    bdholsin's Avatar
    Member #
    61989
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #7
    Thanks for the great help guys. I'm now rooted, installed ROM manager and am currently downloading Cyanogen's ROM.

    The only question I have remaining is which voltage/slot combination I am looking for under the kernel selection...or will Set CPU take care of that?
  9. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by bdholsin View Post
    Thanks for the great help guys. I'm now rooted, installed ROM manager and am currently downloading Cyanogen's ROM.

    The only question I have remaining is which voltage/slot combination I am looking for under the kernel selection...or will Set CPU take care of that?
    SetCPU will only control the clock speed. You need a kernel to enable overclocking so SetCPU can do it's job.
  10. Droid
    bdholsin's Avatar
    Member #
    61989
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bdholsin View Post
    Thanks for the great help guys. I'm now rooted, installed ROM manager and am currently downloading Cyanogen's ROM.

    The only question I have remaining is which voltage/slot combination I am looking for under the kernel selection...or will Set CPU take care of that?
    SetCPU will only control the clock speed. You need a kernel to enable overclocking so SetCPU can do it's job.
    Ok, that makes sense. The kernel allows for the overclocking but Set CPU will do the overclocking.

    So now I'm just researching on what voltage/slot configuration to use.

    Thank you all for the most excellent help.
  11. Droid
    bdholsin's Avatar
    Member #
    61989
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #10
    Wow, imagine that, "search" works. I actually managed to find the answer I was looking for. Just in case any other "hacking noobs" are following this thread you can go here for the slot/voltage answer I was researching.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. overclocking
    By altjx in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 07:58 AM
  2. overclocking
    By ohshtson in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 10:18 PM
  3. overclocking
    By hummvee2134 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 09:49 AM
  4. overclocking help please!
    By steveomatic in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 09:20 AM
  5. Overclocking, but no new ROM
    By alm0614 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 12:38 PM

Search tags for this page

over clocking requirements
,
overclock android requirements
,

overclocking requirements

,

requirements for overclocking

,
requirements of overclocking
,
set cpu requirments rezound
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+