DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Clockwork MD5 Checksum mismatch

  1. Senior Droid
    markc23's Avatar
    Member #
    65044
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    170
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #1

    Clockwork MD5 Checksum mismatch

    Greetings.
    I've searched high and low for the resolution to the MD5 checksum error when restoring a backup using Rom Manager/Clockwork. All I've found are references to "it used to happen to me but new version fixed it" etc. etc.
    I'm using the most recent version of RM and clockwork, this has happened over several roms and two SD cards, with clearing cache from inside RM, with uninstalling and re-installing RM.
    The program is great in all respects, except I can't get it to restore backups. I don't want to go back to SPRecovery.
    Is there a fix for this? Any help is appreciated, and thanks.
  2. Super Moderator/RS
    dlwhtrose's Avatar
    Member #
    14116
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Posts
    2,777
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    TBOLT / Charge
    Premium Member
    #2
    I also had this happen and could not find a fix. I ended up going to a different backup to restore my phone and I have not had the problem again. I have read somewhere that if you received a text or call during the backup you could possibly have a corrupted file which caused the MD5 mismatch. I don't know if this is the case or not.

    I would suggest trying a different backup file to restore and see if you are able to get your phone working again.
  3. Beta Team
    INSANENEIVIESIS's Avatar
    Member #
    28581
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,288
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, HTC TB, and D1
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #3
    try clearing the cache every time you back up helps mine.
    Galaxy Nexus: ICS53F Rooted/Unlocked Thunder Bolt: CM7.1.1 Droid 1: CM6
    Team Shadow

    want to buy me some orange juice?? Donate if you like my work
  4. Senior Droid
    markc23's Avatar
    Member #
    65044
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    170
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #4
    Thanks, I'm glad someone else has had the same experience, guess I'll have to restore SPRecovery. Since it's been happening since the beginning I doubt it's due to getting a call during each and every backup, but thanks for the thought.

    Quote Originally Posted by dlwhtrose View Post
    I also had this happen and could not find a fix. I ended up going to a different backup to restore my phone and I have not had the problem again. I have read somewhere that if you received a text or call during the backup you could possibly have a corrupted file which caused the MD5 mismatch. I don't know if this is the case or not.

    I would suggest trying a different backup file to restore and see if you are able to get your phone working again.
  5. Senior Droid
    markc23's Avatar
    Member #
    65044
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    170
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #5
    Are you saying that you had the same experience and clearing the cache before backup solved it?

    Quote Originally Posted by INSANENEIVIESIS View Post
    try clearing the cache every time you back up helps mine.
  6. Beta Team
    INSANENEIVIESIS's Avatar
    Member #
    28581
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,288
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, HTC TB, and D1
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by markc23 View Post
    Are you saying that you had the same experience and clearing the cache before backup solved it?

    Quote Originally Posted by INSANENEIVIESIS View Post
    try clearing the cache every time you back up helps mine.
    yeah.
    Galaxy Nexus: ICS53F Rooted/Unlocked Thunder Bolt: CM7.1.1 Droid 1: CM6
    Team Shadow

    want to buy me some orange juice?? Donate if you like my work
  7. Droid Ninja
    cupfulloflol's Avatar
    Member #
    12086
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,898
    Liked
    65 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...tml#post430944 <--- try that. Make a backup of your current .md5 somewhere.

    That process has saved a few busted backups for me before.
  8. Senior Droid
    markc23's Avatar
    Member #
    65044
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    170
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #8
    Well I tried going back to SPRecovery, got stuck at the M, booted into programming mode, then exited that and it somehow fixed the M problem, then tried your fix below and it worked, I was able to restore a prior clockwork backup, so thanks. I don't like the extra steps but at least I'm not totally unprotected...

    Quote Originally Posted by cupfulloflol View Post
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...tml#post430944 <--- try that. Make a backup of your current .md5 somewhere.

    That process has saved a few busted backups for me before.
  9. Droid Ninja
    cupfulloflol's Avatar
    Member #
    12086
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,898
    Liked
    65 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by markc23 View Post
    Well I tried going back to SPRecovery, got stuck at the M, booted into programming mode, then exited that and it somehow fixed the M problem, then tried your fix below and it worked, I was able to restore a prior clockwork backup, so thanks. I don't like the extra steps but at least I'm not totally unprotected...

    Quote Originally Posted by cupfulloflol View Post
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...tml#post430944 <--- try that. Make a backup of your current .md5 somewhere.

    That process has saved a few busted backups for me before.
    Glad you were able to fix it. Hopefully you won't have to do it often, if ever again. I haven't had to do it recently, but...I guess there is always that chance. At least it is a semi-simple fix.
  10. Junior Droid
    browncoatsd's Avatar
    Member #
    67870
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    MotoDroid
    #10
    I ran into the same issue with the checksum error when trying to restore my Bugless Beast backup. I tried creating the new image in the backup folder but get the message:
    cannot create .md5:read-only file system.

    I have Root Explorer but I'm not sure how to change access of that folder to read-write, any suggestions?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. HELP! Clockwork "MD5 mismatch" in recovery...
    By icculusX in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 08:07 AM
  2. Text Message Mismatch
    By dargomike in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-13-2011, 07:24 PM
  3. clockwork mod
    By supremekizzle in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 06:24 PM
  4. MD5 mismatch
    By Bshaggy6 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 09:43 AM

Search tags for this page

by pass md5 mismatch clockworkmod
,
clockwork recovery md5 mismatch
,
md5 checksum error android
,

md5 checksum mismatch

,
md5 checksum mismatch clockworkmod
,
md5 checksum repair
,
md5 digest checksum mismatch
,

md5 mismatch clockworkmod

,
md5 sum mismatch
,
md5 sum missmatch
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+