DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: After Updating Rom

  1. Droid
    Travis798's Avatar
    Member #
    61422
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    After Updating Rom

    Sorry if this has been asked before. I tried searching but there is so much talk all around these forums about rom's/kernels and such it makes it a pain to find anything. Anyway, on to my question.

    I finally decided to root my phone last night, and I'm assuming now that I have SPRecovery installed all I need to do to install a rom is wipe/download the rom and kernel, rename to update.zip and install them through the boot screen. Please correct me if I'm wrong there.

    Anyway, to my actual question. After updating a rom, do you have to *228 and activate/update prl? I'm thinking of installing bugless beast but if you have to *228 again I'll have to choose an opportune time since I have to drive about 20 miles to get in an area that will let me (I roam off USCC at home).

    I'm assuming if all your SID/NAM info is wiped out I could still set the phone up manually, however I have yet to find a place where I can update my prl manually?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    The install of the ROM depends on how the ROM is formatted. Usually with SPRecovery, the ROM will be in a tarball.

    No, you shouldnt have to reactivate and update the PRL.
  4. Droid
    Travis798's Avatar
    Member #
    61422
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    The install of the ROM depends on how the ROM is formatted. Usually with SPRecovery, the ROM will be in a tarball.

    No, you shouldnt have to reactivate and update the PRL.
    Thanks. As long as I don't have to reactivate and update the PRL I can play with the phone/read more and figure the rest out.

    *Edit* I now have bugless beast installed without having to *228. Thanks a bunch LTKen.
    Last edited by Travis798; 05-02-2010 at 10:51 PM.
  5. verian
    Guest
    verian's Avatar
    #4
    Any rom you will be flashing should have the new baseband in with it. You only have to reactivate after switching baseband. C_01.3E.03P If thats the one you have just make sure the rom you pick has the same on. Most will.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Updating on BB Rom?
    By bodean in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 05:33 PM
  2. Updating
    By hennyk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 06:41 PM
  3. After updating 2.01, MMS still can't be sent?
    By kzmania in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 04:32 PM
  4. Updating
    By nextgen1 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 11:04 PM

Search tags for this page

activating droid bionic after rom install

,

cannot roam after rom

,

do i have to *228 after rom update

,

do you have to reactivate phone after installing rom

,

do you have to reactivate phone after rom install

,

email uscc.at

,

re-activate phone after rom update

,

rom verizon *228

,

samsung fascinate cannot activate phone after rom

,

verizon rom activate

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+