DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to remove the stock browser?

  1. Master Droid
    papy72's Avatar
    Member #
    843
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    348
    Phone
    Droooid
    #1

    How to remove the stock browser?

    I'm running a rooted stock 2.1 droid and am wondering how I go about removing the stock browser.

    I use xscope and am tired of getting the 'choose a browser' box everytime it updates. I figured if there was only one browser on the phone it would open it by default (and plz correct me if I am wrong on that).
    We are The Droid.
    Lower your and surrender your .
    We will add your biological distinctiveness to our own.
    Your culture will adapt to service us.

    Resistance is futile
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Beta Team
    Tanknspank's Avatar
    Member #
    27138
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,548
    Phone
    Droid 1
    Premium Member
    #2
    You can use root exlporer from the market, go into /system/apps, mount r/w and then delete it. It should open xscope by default after that.

    Can't remember the term code, but root explorer is a great app worth paying for. You will use it a lot.
    -----------------------------------
    Rom: CyanogenMod 7 Winner00's Nightly #85
    Recovery: ClockworkMod 3.1.0.2
    Kernel: Prime's deprimed_test
    Theme: Stock
    Launcher: ADW EX 1.2.2
    Launcher Theme: Gingerbread
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/ihaztehwingz

    -----------------------------------
  4. Master Droid
    papy72's Avatar
    Member #
    843
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    348
    Phone
    Droooid
    #3
    Well I have AndExplorer and can find the browser.apk (and something called browser.odex - no clue what that is) in the \system\app directory.

    One other question: if I want to keep it around "just in case" can I just slap a .bak on the end of the name to make the apk unrecognizable? Would i have to rename the odex file too?
    We are The Droid.
    Lower your and surrender your .
    We will add your biological distinctiveness to our own.
    Your culture will adapt to service us.

    Resistance is futile
  5. Theme Developer
    icculusX's Avatar
    Member #
    36395
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    RAZR!
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    I think that should work just fine. I dono what the ODEX file is myself? You can always use ADB to pull the browser.apk file to keep a backup too... if you use ADB.
  6. Droid
    Dustinmj's Avatar
    Member #
    61646
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by papy72 View Post
    Well I have AndExplorer and can find the browser.apk (and something called browser.odex - no clue what that is) in the \system\app directory.

    One other question: if I want to keep it around "just in case" can I just slap a .bak on the end of the name to make the apk unrecognizable? Would i have to rename the odex file too?

    Yes, you can (and should) just slap .bak onto the end of the filename so you can retrieve it quicker.

    As for the .odex, that's also a part of the browser... you should technically rename them both. ODEX files are class files that are pre-optimized to save some overhead... the stock browser .apk requires the .odex in order to function, so if you ever want the browser back, remember to rename the .odex file back to.

    There is a completely de-odexed file system floating around, but that's another story...
  7. Master Droid
    papy72's Avatar
    Member #
    843
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    348
    Phone
    Droooid
    #6
    Thanks everyone!
    We are The Droid.
    Lower your and surrender your .
    We will add your biological distinctiveness to our own.
    Your culture will adapt to service us.

    Resistance is futile
  8. Master Droid
    papy72's Avatar
    Member #
    843
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    348
    Phone
    Droooid
    #7
    ok, did the renames and Folder Organizer immediately crapped out. I suspect it has something to do with it's use of the global bookmarks.

    So after renaming them back all is well (thankfully I didn't delete them). I guess I'm going to have to live with needing to choose xscope after every update.
    We are The Droid.
    Lower your and surrender your .
    We will add your biological distinctiveness to our own.
    Your culture will adapt to service us.

    Resistance is futile

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How about a little assistance with stock browser?
    By Jim 777 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 01:24 PM
  2. Remove zoom from default browser
    By marinor in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 10:31 AM
  3. 2.1 stock browser double tap
    By jimmiem in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 05:18 AM
  4. does the stock browser have typing lag?
    By Matth3w in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 12:28 PM
  5. Scrolling in stock browser
    By MysteryHours in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 05:48 PM

Search tags for this page

android uninstall browser

,

android uninstall default browser

,
how to uninstall default browser on android
,

reinstall android browser

,
remove stock browser android
,

uninstall android browser

,
uninstall android default browser
,
uninstall browser android
,
uninstall default browser android
,
uninstall stock browser android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+