DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Having Trouble With Installing ROM's...

  1. Junior Droid
    dotKev's Avatar
    Member #
    62289
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Having Trouble With Installing ROM's...

    Hey folks. So, I successfully rooted my Droid last night. I then went to the Market, paid for and downloaded ROM Manager, and flashed the ClockworkMod to my device as instructed.

    So, I went to pick a ROM - it was Cyanogen since I've heard great things about it. After it installed, the device was stuck in a boot loop and I had to go into recovery mode and restore my backup..

    Can anyone explain to me what I did wrong? Why wasn't I able to properly load the ROM?

    Thanks so much!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    Two things come to mind.

    Fist, the download of the rom was somehow corrupted. The rom is a large file so if possible use wifi. I had trouble installing Cyanogen the first time I tried with Rom Manager. I started over and successfully downloaded and installed Cyanogen.

    The other possibility, but not a likely, wipe the data and cache.

    Mike
  4. Junior Droid
    dotKev's Avatar
    Member #
    62289
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Okay, I'll go ahead and try it once again. If it still doesn't work, and I need to restore to my backup again, how do I go about wiping the data and cache? Thanks!
  5. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #4
    Rom Manager will prompt you.

    Just sent you a PM
    Mike
  6. Junior Droid
    dotKev's Avatar
    Member #
    62289
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Yep, still in a boot loop.

    For when you get back, or for anyone else: Is wiping the data and cache a last resort type of deal?
  7. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #6
    I'm not sure what is causing this problem so lets check a few things.

    First, what version of ClockWork recovery do you have installed. (open RM and it will be the first heading. There will be two current and latest. They should match. If not then you need to reflash).

    Second, are you positive that the rom download was successful?

    Third, please verify that your root is still active. Open the SU icon (ninja) and make sure that there is something in the folder. There should be at least one file with a green + on the left.

    Mike
  8. Junior Droid
    dotKev's Avatar
    Member #
    62289
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Both Clockwork Recovery versions match at 1.8.1.2.

    Yes, the ROM download was definitely successful. It even installs fine, it's just that when the phone reboots, it keeps looping the Droid splash screen over and over.

    Yep, root seems to be active.

    Thanks again for your help.
  9. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #8
    I'm not sure what else to advise. Give me a few minutes to search.

    Mike
  10. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #9
    Here is a link to the IRC online service Real Time IRC Support, CLICK HERE!

    Perhaps they may have a suggestion. I'll keep looking
  11. Senior Droid
    Jcshannon05's Avatar
    Member #
    40113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    103
    Phone
    DX
    #10
    I would guess a full wipe data/cache will take care of your problems.
    Add me to your Alliance on World War XQE5XK
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble installing framework-res.apk
    By acidcore in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 01:01 PM
  2. My friend is having trouble installing SPRecovery.
    By rednukleus in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 01:12 PM
  3. Trouble installing metamorph and busybox
    By kelimandya in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 05:02 PM
  4. having some trouble getting GDE to run
    By Tadas T in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 08:19 PM
  5. 3G Trouble!
    By doc69 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 06:41 PM

Search tags for this page

having troubles downloading roms

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+