DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Question about overclocking

  1. Junior Droid
    scheirere's Avatar
    Member #
    17825
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Question about overclocking

    Hey guys I'm looking to overclock my droid and I'm a bit confused about doing so. I'm just fine with the stock ROM and I'm not looking to use a custom ROM. So can I overclock with the stock ROM? Sorry if this is a pretty pedestrian question but I've done a little reading with regards to rooting the droid and I'm pretty much more confused than ever.
    Thanks in advance,
    Eric
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    JCo352's Avatar
    Member #
    36721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,830
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid A855
    #2
    Yes you can overclock a stock rom. Team Chaos has some nice kernels for this. Any kernel compatible with ese81 will work.
    FroYo
    Follow me on
    Twitter
  4. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #3
    You have to root to install a custom ROM to overclock. Sorry.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

  5. Master Droid
    joeymoose's Avatar
    Member #
    17424
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    466
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Driod X Rooted
    #4
    You need to install an OverClocked Kernel and installl the app SetupCPU
  6. Master Droid
    joeymoose's Avatar
    Member #
    17424
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    466
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Driod X Rooted
    #5
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...id-600mhz.html

    You can go up to 1.3 with some kernels...
  7. Droid Ninja
    JCo352's Avatar
    Member #
    36721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,830
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid A855
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim #777 View Post
    You have to root to install a custom ROM to overclock. Sorry.
    I could be wrong, but I think it was assumed that he was going to be rooted, and you don't need a custom Rom for that.
    FroYo
    Follow me on
    Twitter
  8. Master Droid
    joeymoose's Avatar
    Member #
    17424
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    466
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Driod X Rooted
    #7
    You just need to root>Flash a overclocked kernel>Install SetupCPU....Period
  9. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #8
    Ah, I interpreted:
    Quote Originally Posted by scheirere View Post
    I'm just fine with the stock ROM and I'm not looking to use a custom ROM.
    Eric
    as he didn't want to root.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

  10. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    You do not need a custom ROM, but you will need to root and install a custom kernel. Rooting will require connecting via USB to a PC and running RSDLite. Installing the custom kernel will involve putting an update.zip file on your SD card and installing it. Then you can use the SetCPU app to configure the overclock.
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)
  11. Junior Droid
    scheirere's Avatar
    Member #
    17825
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    First off, I want to say thanks for the scream'n fast replies guys. :-)
    Secondly, I should clarify a bit in that I haven't rooted my phone yet but figured it was necessary to do the overclocking. I just wasn't sure if I could use a custom kernal without a custom ROM.

    Seems like I should be OK then to OC the CPU with the stock ROM and I'll do a little more reading on what exactly I need to do to accomplish this.

    Now, one other question.......after I've rooted and OC'd the phone with a custom kernal, what about OTA updates? Is that going to be a problem, and do I need to block them like I've installed a custom ROM? And what if the update is something useful that I may want or appreciate. Do I go back to stock and run the update then repeat the steps to OC the phone?

    Again guys, thanks a bunch for the info!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. overclocking question
    By Rlocsin in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 03:35 PM
  2. question about overclocking/BB
    By nkcavs23 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 12:08 PM
  3. Question about overclocking
    By droidtom in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 04:34 PM
  4. Overclocking Question.
    By INSANENEIVIESIS in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 06:11 PM
  5. Quick question about overclocking
    By Sportsmaniac1322 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 01:07 AM

Search tags for this page

android setupcpu

,

can i overclock motorala android a855 without custom rom? ju

,

overclock without a custom rom 2.2

,

setupcpu.txt

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+