DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rooted 2.1 Milestone- SetCPU will not go over 550

  1. Junior Droid
    JoshSkillz's Avatar
    Member #
    30742
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #1

    Rooted 2.1 Milestone- SetCPU will not go over 550

    Hey all, just rooted and updated my UK milestone using the threads here....worked like a charm! <3

    just got into playing with all the new 2.1 features, and decided i would like to overclock my milestone.

    i have installed setcpu however after allowing it root (it force closed after that) and selecting detect automatically i can not set the clock over 550

    i have tried reinstalling a few times

    any ideas?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    goinskiing's Avatar
    Member #
    47811
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    117
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Have you installed a kernal that has overclocking such as Adamz 1000MHz, ChecvyNo1 1Ghz etc?
    UltimateDroid 2.5
  4. Junior Droid
    JoshSkillz's Avatar
    Member #
    30742
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #3
    i dont think so....does that effect the 2.1 image i put on? or can i install that over the top...
    or is this still not possible?
    Last edited by JoshSkillz; 04-08-2010 at 08:35 PM.
  5. Senior Droid
    goinskiing's Avatar
    Member #
    47811
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    117
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    I'm not sure if the process is the same for the milestone as it is for the sholes, anyone know?
    UltimateDroid 2.5
  6. Master Droid
    nateccnn's Avatar
    Member #
    41559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    846
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Did you root and then install a custom rom using..blahblahblahblahblahblahblah....blahblahbla hblah.....blahblahblah

    Nate
    Last edited by nateccnn; 04-08-2010 at 09:17 PM.
  7. Developer
    adrynalyne's Avatar
    Member #
    18036
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,896
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droidzilla
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #6
    Folks, the Milestone has a locked down kernel. Any kernel tampering will render him unbootable.
  8. Master Droid
    nateccnn's Avatar
    Member #
    41559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    846
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by adrynalyne View Post
    Folks, the Milestone has a locked down kernel. Any kernel tampering will render him unbootable.
    Whoa! Sorry. I did not even catch the fact he is on Milestone.

    Nate
  9. Junior Droid
    JoshSkillz's Avatar
    Member #
    30742
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #8
    okay thanks guys. until yesterday i was under the impression i could not root, or load custom images onto my milestone. i thought overclocking may have been possible now that rooting and loading custom images onto it is

    dam... haha
  10. Junior Droid
    mirage's Avatar
    Member #
    58567
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #9

    milestone-overclock

    Hi all,

    It's true that the kernel/firmware of the Milestone is locked, however I developed a solution that allows overclocking by changing key structures directly in the kernel memory in runtime. All you need is a rooted phone; no flashing involved. For now this works only (afaik) for the 2.1 Central European firmware but testers are most welcome, it's a matter of finding the correct address. I'm sure it's doable in other Milestone firmwares (the principle is sound even for other phones). For more information and downloads please see the project site:

    milestone-overclock - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Thanks,
    Tiago Sousa

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Post up your SETCPU benchmarks - Rooted only
    By R1Lover in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 132
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 12:12 PM
  2. 2.1 rooted for Milestone
    By RinTinTigger in forum Android News
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 08:04 AM
  3. SetCPU 1.50 bug?
    By ViciousCircle in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 11:45 PM
  4. Rooted > Bugless Beast > Overclocked > Unrooted > Waited for 2.1 > Rooted > Droid Mod
    By Where'sMyCoffe? in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 04:41 AM
  5. [Video HowTo]The Milestone has been Rooted!
    By Berzerker in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 03:32 PM

Search tags for this page

configurar setcpu milestone
,
configurar setcpu motorola charm
,

milestone setcpu

,
motorola milestone setcpu
,
overclock milestone 2.1
,
overclokear milestone taringa
,
setcpu cho milestone
,

setcpu milestone

,
setcpu milestone 2
,
setcpu motorola milestone
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+