DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ADB Shell wont run! What am I doing wrong?

  1. Droid
    cwininger's Avatar
    Member #
    16870
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The D
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid_Sholes2.0.5_800MhzOC'd
    #1

    ADB Shell wont run! What am I doing wrong?

    i can't get adb shell to run. i keep getting this error:

    error: protocol fault <status 5b 72 6f 6f?!>

    i can reboot the phone through "adb reboot", unmount via "adb usb", and "adb devices" shows the phone serial number, so i know the phone's connected.

    when i try to run adb shell i get the same error every time. incidentally, i get a similar error when i try to run the "adb root" command.

    the phone is in debugging mode and i have the approprate drivers installed. i also have the 2.1 sdk kit installed. i'm running smoked glass 6.0.1 right now. i'm using windows xp to run adb.

    this is my first attempt at getting adb up and running, so any info would be appreciated.
  2. Master Droid
    nateccnn's Avatar
    Member #
    41559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    846
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    Did you add the path to the sdk tools directory in your autoexec bat or some other method to get it to system path on the computer? Alternatively, run the command from the directory that holds SDK tools. Open the command prompt and type "cd **whatever\directory**\ SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools. Mine is in the C:\Users\bob\Documents\data\download\Motorola Driod Phone\SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools

    From the C: SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools> I type adb shell and it pops up.

    Nate
    Last edited by nateccnn; 04-02-2010 at 05:53 PM.
  3. Droid
    hayaku's Avatar
    Member #
    35484
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    81
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    you most likely have the wrong driver. winxp uses the 32bit driver. perhaps redownload it and install it from scratch again
  4. Droid
    cwininger's Avatar
    Member #
    16870
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The D
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid_Sholes2.0.5_800MhzOC'd
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by nateccnn View Post
    Did you add the path to the sdk tools directory in your autoexec bat or some other method to get it to system path on the computer? Alternatively, run the command from the directory that holds SDK tools. Open the command prompt and type "cd **whatever\directory**\ SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools. Mine is in the C:\Users\bob\Documents\data\download\Motorola Driod Phone\SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools

    From the C: SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools> I type adb shell and it pops up.

    Nate
    did that. i'm trying to run adb shell in the command prompt from C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>, which is where it's actually located. i'm still getting the error.
  5. Droid
    cwininger's Avatar
    Member #
    16870
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The D
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid_Sholes2.0.5_800MhzOC'd
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by hayaku View Post
    you most likely have the wrong driver. winxp uses the 32bit driver. perhaps redownload it and install it from scratch again
    tried this as well, no change. same error message. anybody else?
  6. Master Droid
    nateccnn's Avatar
    Member #
    41559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    846
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    if you have the right drivers and you have the path in the system variables and you are executing from the directory where adb resides, then you're typing something wrong or you have a bad install of sdk tools or you don't have root access. Narrow it down.

    Nate
  7. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #7
    > What am I doing wrong

    Using windows. Download a live-linux distro (Ubuntu, Knoppix, DamnSmallLinux, Fedora, etc.) and run adb from there.

    E

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. adb shell question
    By evilsock in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 01:14 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 07:53 AM
  3. Better Bash (or other shell) for 2.0.1
    By hughesjr in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 09:45 AM
  4. Activating the adb shell?
    By Natolx in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 07:21 PM
  5. Loose shell around the USB jack
    By Jaylor in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 11:58 PM

Search tags for this page

adb error: protocol fault (no status)
,

adb protocol fault

,
adb protocol fault (status 74 65 73 74?!)
,

adb protocol fault no status

,
can't open adb shell
,
error: protocol fault (no status)
,
error: protocol fault (status 73 68 65 6c?!)
,

how to open adb shell

,
how to open adb shell in windows
,

how to run adb shell

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+