DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Renaming or using multi sd cards?

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    DROID!

Renaming or using multi sd cards?

Hello, I am brand new to this and have a couple of questions. I am getting my droid tomorrow and I am considering rooting it for a couple of reasons(wifi tether, and full control over something I own being the main reasons). On the videos I have seen for rooting and unrooting your phone it involves deleting and installing a file called "update.zip" which brings up my first couple of questions.

1. Is it possible to keep the Original "update.zip" file on your sd and just rename it? That way I don't have to search the internet later and download the "unroot-update.zip" file in case I need to unroot.

2. If that is not possible(I don't see why, but like I said I'm new) would it work If I just copied my original sd card that comes with the droid to another sd card? That way I could keep the original as a backup, then if I need to unroot I could just switch out cards.

Thank you.
  2. Android Addict
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Dröid
    Premium Member
    You can rename the files all you want. Just make sure that when you actually want to apply them you rename or copy them to update.zip.
  3. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    DROID!
    Thanks Vicious, I figured it wouldn't be a problem. I don't know why the people who made the videos didn't just do it that way, instead of deleting and then having to go back and re download? Maybe after I have had my droid for awhile i will start making my own videos, videos jam packed with common sense.
  4. Premium Member
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    If your Droid has the 2.1 update on it, You can forget about rooting for a while....
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

Only the Skilled Survive