DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: hacking my droid...looking for advice please

1. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    motorola droid

hacking my droid...looking for advice please

Hello. I am new to this forum and am seeking some advice.

I recently upgraded to a motorola droid on verizon network. I have had the phone since Feb. 28th. I was happy with the stock phone but I like to hack all my devices. I have been looking around for means to accomplish this.

I am going to follow some guides I found posted on YouTube for rooting along with his other guides:

Seems simple enough. I'm not new to hacking devices, I have jtaged a few xbox 360's in the last month, done countless amounts of video game system hacks, jailbroken a few iphones, recently flashed a linksys wrt-54GS with dd-wrt firmware. So I am not new to doing these kind of things. But am a total newbie when it comes to the motorola droid.

From what I understand, the root hack really does nothing to your phone except allow "administration" access. Not so much worried about that part.
    It's the flashing of of a custom rom that is of concern to myself.

I have read that when you flash a custom rom all your contacts and apps are gone. So I have to back up my contacts somehow (will be looking into this after this post). Then I will attempt root access.

One of my more concerning issues about this procedure is the possibility of "bricking" my droid. I of course would rather not have that happen. So I have been researching steps to take, that in case of a brick, I could recover from it. From what i understand all safety backup precautions require root access, although I could be mistaken.

I will be following this guide to make a backup of my stock rom.