DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Clock wont drop below 600mhz while charging?

  1. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Clock wont drop below 600mhz while charging?

    No matter what I set the charging profile to in SetCPU it wont drop below 600mhz when plugged in. Even if I uncheck the charging profile or dont use profiles in general. Any ideas on this? I figure it will lower my temps while charging, and perhaps charge quicker if I could get it to settle at 250mhz.

    I am using Adamz low voltage 1ghz kernel and Ultimate Droid 7.8.

    Thanks in advance fellas.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #2
    Mine is set at 250/450. I did have to reboot once I first upgraded to SG6.0 because my settings also weren't working as I expected. Even if you set yours to 250/250 it won't drop?

    btw, on the way home today I had it in the car cradle and found I had to up the CPU speed when I had google earth tilted at an angle and the images were streaming past. Beautiful Widgets fc'd and the SlideShowWidget fc'd because it was plugged in and charging and too much was going on for 400mhz to handle.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  4. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Mine is set at 250/450. I did have to reboot once I first upgraded to SG6.0 because my settings also weren't working as I expected. Even if you set yours to 250/250 it won't drop?

    btw, on the way home today I had it in the car cradle and found I had to up the CPU speed when I had google earth tilted at an angle and the images were streaming past. Beautiful Widgets fc'd and the SlideShowWidget fc'd because it was plugged in and charging and too much was going on for 400mhz to handle.
    Correct... No matter what i set it to it will not drop. It will go higher if I allow it to... But it just wont go below 600. I've rebootedto no avail as well.
  5. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #4
    And you're looking at the current operating speed within the SetCPU app?
  6. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    And you're looking at the current operating speed within the SetCPU app?
    Yeah.. I will refresh it a few times and it will bounce between 600 and 800 every now and again if I have it set at like 250/800. I am thinking about flashing the medium voltage kernel just to see if it makes a difference.
  7. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by vrdubin6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    And you're looking at the current operating speed within the SetCPU app?
    Yeah.. I will refresh it a few times and it will bounce between 600 and 800 every now and again if I have it set at like 250/800. I am thinking about flashing the medium voltage kernel just to see if it makes a difference.
    I didnt ask to make you feel stupid or anything, just making sure that you werent watching the widget or something.

    What happens if you set the slider to 250? Usually the phone wont drop to 250 unless it's asleep, in which case you wouldnt be able to see that it's underclocked.
  8. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #7
    Do you have any widgets?
  9. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by vrdubin6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    And you're looking at the current operating speed within the SetCPU app?
    Yeah.. I will refresh it a few times and it will bounce between 600 and 800 every now and again if I have it set at like 250/800. I am thinking about flashing the medium voltage kernel just to see if it makes a difference.
    I didnt ask to make you feel stupid or anything, just making sure that you werent watching the widget or something.

    What happens if you set the slider to 250? Usually the phone wont drop to 250 unless it's asleep, in which case you wouldnt be able to see that it's underclocked.
    Hah no worries I didnt take it that way. Mine will drop to 250 quite a bit if I am not doing anything when unplugged. Even if I set the profile to 250/250 when charging it will just sit at 600mhz.
    Last edited by vrdubin6; 03-19-2010 at 05:48 PM.
  10. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Well... I just discovered something quite odd. When plugged into my computer it will drop to 250... when plugged into the wall it will not.
  11. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by vrdubin6 View Post
    Well... I just discovered something quite odd. When plugged into my computer it will drop to 250... when plugged into the wall it will not.

    That is weird. But makes some sense, a lot less power coming out of usb port. Maybe try a different outlet? Could be a kernel issue though so if nothing else try a new one and see what happens.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. phone wont power down while charging
    By niknak747 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-27-2010, 12:16 AM
  2. over-clocking to 600MHz
    By marioman68 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 11:23 AM
  3. 600mhz?
    By Kdubbjr in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 01:58 PM
  4. How I got Wi-Fi Tether AND 600MHz!
    By crdnilfan in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 177
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 09:45 PM
  5. Screen Wont timeout while charging?
    By bassrunner67 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 03:52 PM

Search tags for this page

android cpu speed while charging
,
bionic speed dropping to 600 mhz
,

droid 3 600mhz

,
how do i set my droid three to show the clock while charging
,
under clock while charging
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+