DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: A few questions about switching Rom's

  1. Junior Droid
    Razr's Avatar
    Member #
    42509
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    A few questions about switching Rom's

    Rooted droid, running BB v5 (3-4-10) (cant find thread to link to anymore), sbrecovery, nandroid backup.

    Im thinking i want to try a few different rom's out. I also have setcpu, wireless tether, and one of chevy's kernels loaded.

    Question 1: DO i just grab another rom and do the update.zip method?
    Q2: will i need to reload those apps (ie, lose them)?
    Q3: will i need to reload chevy kernel?

    I seemed to have been able to get it rooted and loaded the first time but would just like to be more comfortable this time around.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Razr View Post
    Rooted droid, running BB v5 (3-4-10) (cant find thread to link to anymore), sbrecovery, nandroid backup.

    Im thinking i want to try a few different rom's out. I also have setcpu, wireless tether, and one of chevy's kernels loaded.

    Question 1: DO i just grab another rom and do the update.zip method?
    Q2: will i need to reload those apps (ie, lose them)?
    Q3: will i need to reload chevy kernel?

    I seemed to have been able to get it rooted and loaded the first time but would just like to be more comfortable this time around.
    I believe that the thread was accidentally deleted. Now that you have installed a 2.1 Rom you can install other 2.1 Roms by using the update.zip method which will not require you to reload you apps. Reloading Chevy's OC kernel depends on which Rom you install. Check the site of the developers Rom you install to determine what kernel is included then decide if you need to use one of Chevy's.

    Mike
  4. Junior Droid
    Razr's Avatar
    Member #
    42509
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mwhartman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Razr View Post
    Rooted droid, running BB v5 (3-4-10) (cant find thread to link to anymore), sbrecovery, nandroid backup.

    Im thinking i want to try a few different rom's out. I also have setcpu, wireless tether, and one of chevy's kernels loaded.

    Question 1: DO i just grab another rom and do the update.zip method?
    Q2: will i need to reload those apps (ie, lose them)?
    Q3: will i need to reload chevy kernel?

    I seemed to have been able to get it rooted and loaded the first time but would just like to be more comfortable this time around.
    I believe that the thread was accidentally deleted. Now that you have installed a 2.1 Rom you can install other 2.1 Roms by using the update.zip method which will not require you to reload you apps. Reloading Chevy's OC kernel depends on which Rom you install. Check the site of the developers Rom you install to determine what kernel is included then decide if you need to use one of Chevy's.

    Mike
    Do I need to make another nandroid backup? Also, will I lose setcpu, tether app, etc?
  5. Master Droid
    SANhacker's Avatar
    Member #
    24684
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    352
    Liked
    22 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    #4
    Just one mans opinion. YMMV and others will disagree.
    See below in blue....

    Quote Originally Posted by Razr View Post
    Rooted droid, running BB v5 (3-4-10) (cant find thread to link to anymore), sbrecovery, nandroid backup.

    Im thinking i want to try a few different rom's out. I also have setcpu, wireless tether, and one of chevy's kernels loaded.

    Question 1: DO i just grab another rom and do the update.zip method?

    Before you do ANYTHING do an advanced nandroid backup and be sure to select all the options. i.e. system, boot, data ...

    Then you are safe to try the update zip.

    If your experience is like mine, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.
    If if doesn't, use the nandroid method ensuring you wipe /data and /cache beforehand.


    Q2: will i need to reload those apps (ie, lose them)?

    If you used update.zip, the answer is no. If you had to do nandroid restore (i.e. you wiped /data and /cache, then the answer is yes. I backup using "MyBackup Pro" (fee) and "Titanium Backup" (free) in addition to the nandroid backup before any ROM updates. I then use the MyBackup backup version to see if all is well. Sometimes after a restore of apps, I experience FC's, boot loops, etc. and this seems to be an inherent problem now that I am using 2.1 vs. 2.0.1 ROM's. Not sure that is the root cause (pun intended), rather just my experience. Sooo, I sometimes need to start from scratch and download the apps from Market. Those not on Market I keep on my sdcard. Again, YMMV.

    Q3: will i need to reload chevy kernel?

    I always reload the kernel. That's just me and I suppose it gives me some peace of mind. Since they are changing so frequently, I haven't a clue if what I had was compatible or most current for the ROM I just installed. I also do this before restoring or reinstalling any apps or data. I've found the kernel has hosed my phone and I had to do another nandroid restore. So don't waste your time on apps until you are certain your ROM and kernel are stable.

    I seemed to have been able to get it rooted and loaded the first time but would just like to be more comfortable this time around.

    Best of luck !!!
  6. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Razr View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mwhartman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Razr View Post
    Rooted droid, running BB v5 (3-4-10) (cant find thread to link to anymore), sbrecovery, nandroid backup.

    Im thinking i want to try a few different rom's out. I also have setcpu, wireless tether, and one of chevy's kernels loaded.

    Question 1: DO i just grab another rom and do the update.zip method?
    Q2: will i need to reload those apps (ie, lose them)?
    Q3: will i need to reload chevy kernel?

    I seemed to have been able to get it rooted and loaded the first time but would just like to be more comfortable this time around.
    I believe that the thread was accidentally deleted. Now that you have installed a 2.1 Rom you can install other 2.1 Roms by using the update.zip method which will not require you to reload you apps. Reloading Chevy's OC kernel depends on which Rom you install. Check the site of the developers Rom you install to determine what kernel is included then decide if you need to use one of Chevy's.

    Mike
    Do I need to make another nandroid backup? Also, will I lose setcpu, tether app, etc?
    Anytime you make a change you should make a nandroid backup that you can use to recover, should something go wrong, or if you decide you like the previous Rom better than what you just installed.

    I think most of the new BB roms are being released with stock 550 CPU so if you install a new BB then you would need to reload. Yesterday, I installed one of Chevy's kernel in just a few minutes. It took me less that 10 minutes to reset the OC with setCPU and reactivate the tether.

    Here is a link (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hac...ation-etc.html) the what I consider the most comprehensive process on rooting, installing/switching Roms, OC, tethering, etc. You can find answers to most of your questions and it is an excellent reference.


    Mike

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Switching Themes The Easy Way?
    By Mercutio in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2010, 06:41 PM
  2. Question about switching ROMs
    By The in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 09:55 AM
  3. Lag when switching screens?
    By JTDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:46 AM
  4. switching between apps
    By stanwelks in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 08:22 PM
  5. Switching from Alltel blackberry, plan questions
    By Leastbay in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 05:46 PM

Search tags for this page

do i need to do a data wipe when switching from one jb rom t

,
switching rom
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+