DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: If someone could edumacate me....

1. Master Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    76 times
    Phone
    D1>DX>Bionic>NEXUS!!

If someone could edumacate me....

Ok, fairly noob here, but I've looked at EVERY thread in hacking help and read half of them, and am just looking to get some schooling on two questions that I can't seem to find the answer to.

Q1: Pertaining to backups. From what I've read, doing an advanced nandroid backup gets data, cache, boot, and a couple others. It seems you still have to back up your apps, right? I've heard using either Astro or TiBackup works. My question is: What is necessary to do a COMPLETE reinstall. Is that even possible? Does the nandroid/Astro backup capture my screens and icons? Or should I take screenshots and replace my icons after recovery?

Can't seem to find that anywhere.

Q2: Probably a very noob question, but can someone please explain (clarify) exactly what these do:

Firmware version: Mine says 2.0.1 (I believe this is my version of BB (rom?)?, just want that clarified)

Kernel Version: Mine says 2.6.29-compcache06_unionfs253-sholes-omap1-hg383b38baebcb-dirty (have no idea - assume this is my OC kernel, which I believe is Adamz 1.1 but not sure now after reading so much). But what is this? The kernel talks to the chip? How does a kernel relate to a rom?

Build Number: Mine says Bugless Beast 1.1

I guess I'm getting confused between the Firmware version and the Build Number primarily. Read a lot about 2.0.1 vs. new 2.1 rom out, but not sure where the build number comes in, not to mention I've read alot about BB.7 (or .6 or....). Which REALLY confuses me.

Just trying to really understand what each piece of software means, so as updates come out I'll know exactly what I'm changing and how to get back (thus the backup question).