DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wiping data/cache

  1. Droid Ninja
    microsnook's Avatar
    Member #
    35836
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,292
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Wiping data/cache

    Upon installation, some roms require that you wipe your data and cache.
    What exactly do you lose when wiping? Are all of your apps going to vanish?will my contacts be erased??
    I just need to know if wiping is ok
  2. Premium Member
    Sam's Avatar
    Member #
    16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    dirty dirty
    Posts
    3,471
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    whatever contacts you have synced with your google account (should be all of them) will reappear after it gets done syncing again (you'll be prompted to sign in). but you will lose your texts and apps (though some installations give you the option of wiping data EXCEPT apps). any app you have paid for with still be paid for, you'll just have to re-download it.
    -Respect is rule #1
    -Email us at DroidForumPromo@gmail to become a Supporting Vendor.
    -Not around as often as I used to be... Still, feel free to PM me if there is anything I can help with!
  3. Super Moderator
    Vulcan1600's Avatar
    Member #
    7183
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,572
    Liked
    246 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by microsnook View Post
    Upon installation, some roms require that you wipe your data and cache.
    What exactly do you lose when wiping? Are all of your apps going to vanish?will my contacts be erased??
    I just need to know if wiping is ok
    It takes it back to factory defaults. My recommendation if you are going to do a wipe, to get Titanium Backup, it's worth the $3.99 donation. I like to install custom ROM's now and the Titanium Backup saves not only the programs but the settings each time. I understand Astro does too, but haven't tried it. I know someone who used Astro Backup this morning but couldn't restore for one reason or another.
    Thank you to all who have served or are serving our great country. You're always in my thoughts and prayers.

    Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. - Ronald Reagan
    --------

  4. Droid Ninja
    microsnook's Avatar
    Member #
    35836
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,292
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam View Post
    whatever contacts you have synced with your google account (should be all of them) will reappear after it gets done syncing again (you'll be prompted to sign in). but you will lose your texts and apps (though some installations give you the option of wiping data EXCEPT apps). any app you have paid for with still be paid for, you'll just have to re-download it.
    Wow, can I not do a wipe? I have some important texts and stuff saved on here
  5. Premium Member
    Sam's Avatar
    Member #
    16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    dirty dirty
    Posts
    3,471
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid
    Premium Member
    #5
    texts would be gone, yes. define "stuff" though.. pictures and files saved on your sdcard will still be there. look into doing a backup of some kind first. if you are in the middle of doing a nandroid backup or recovery, you will need to back out of that first and reboot normally.
    -Respect is rule #1
    -Email us at DroidForumPromo@gmail to become a Supporting Vendor.
    -Not around as often as I used to be... Still, feel free to PM me if there is anything I can help with!
  6. Droid Ninja
    microsnook's Avatar
    Member #
    35836
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,292
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam View Post
    texts would be gone, yes. define "stuff" though.. pictures and files saved on your sdcard will still be there. look into doing a backup of some kind first. if you are in the middle of doing a nandroid backup or recovery, you will need to back out of that first and reboot normally.
    Ok, I did a backup of data and apps using mybackup pro. It saved sms and everything else. If I do a wipe, but I have this backup, if I. Go back into handcent, will all my texts be there?
  7. Master Droid
    Kmart95's Avatar
    Member #
    20172
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    342
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    I use titanium backup, if I were to wipe my data for whatever reason would I have to redownload titanium backup off the market and then use it to restore all of the apps that I have backed up?
  8. Droid Ninja
    cupfulloflol's Avatar
    Member #
    12086
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,898
    Liked
    65 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Kmart95 View Post
    I use titanium backup, if I were to wipe my data for whatever reason would I have to redownload titanium backup off the market and then use it to restore all of the apps that I have backed up?
    Yes. 12345678910
  9. Droid
    jdeeg4276's Avatar
    Member #
    23615
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    vancouver, WA
    Posts
    64
    Phone
    RAZR
    #9
    So when i installed Smoked Glass 5.0.1 this last time i went ahead and cleared all the diskcache from my sd card via the computer. was that ok? Where are those Dickcaches coming from? i have done the diskcache icon alot when i first installed the SM rom. My newly installed rom is running flawlessly now after removing all those Diskcaches. was that ok?
    Rooted
    SmokedGlass v6.0.1
    Chevy#1.25 kernal
    2.0.1 launcher
    Home++ 7 screen

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Is There any Way to Cache Maps???
    By NYZ93 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 12:00 PM
  2. Clear cache
    By jacestone40 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 08:22 PM
  3. maybe i dont really care if im rooted.. i can i remove it without wiping phone
    By tktouch12 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 09:55 PM
  4. Wiping it (not with a cloth)?
    By MobileDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 05:30 PM
  5. wiping device
    By metalmenance in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 01:20 PM

Search tags for this page

android wipe data and cache

,
how to wipe data and cache on android
,
should i wipe data and cache
,
what does wipe data and cache do
,
what does wipe data and cache do android
,
what does wipe data and cache mean
,
what does wiping data and cache do
,

wipe data and cache

,
wipe data and cache android
,
wipe data cache
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+