DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: overclock question

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here

overclock question

Im gettin my droid in march and have been reading a lot lately about everything droid related. I found a bunch of articles saying that overclocking is a must do for the phone and some saying that it really isn't that necessary. Im pretty sure that I will root my phone and throw the smoked glass rom on there. And so finally my question is do I need to overclock it or if I leave it alone will the phone be slower with the smoked glass rom than the original. sorry about the long post this is my first time.
  2. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    basically makes it faster, scrolling through screens, pictures, interwebs, etc. makes it fun and fast and kinda just sticks it to the apple fanboys be like..*crouch chop* whatup!
  3. Droid Sensei
    Member #
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3

To be honest as of late the ROM plays a much more important factor in performance that OCing. The newest ROMs are VERY fast compared to the stock 2.0.1 ROM even at stock speed (550Mhz). A slight OC to 800 is really all that's needed to make the new ROMs fly and with the exception of benchmark scores you won't really see a difference in any apps or normal use. This will become even more the case by the time you get yours.
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
  4. RS Admin
    Member #
    Liked
    1688 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
  5. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Bugless Beast