DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Instal BusyBox on Mac help??

  1. Senior Droid
    zero7starz's Avatar
    Member #
    27231
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    G1 and MotoDroid
    #1

    Instal BusyBox on Mac help??

    I am reading Big Lou's how to on installing busybox as found here: Install Busybox | Root Your Droid

    What I am having trouble with is translating his windows commands to Mac/Unix commands all the way through. I got to the part where it wants me to copy the busybox file from the Android SDK (which I'm not even sure is the right version? I've DLd it a while ago, so does it have to be a new DL?) and I can't tell if its copied it or not because none of the commands I'm trying to translate are working out.

    Can you guys help me please??
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    rstone's Avatar
    Member #
    26804
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    66
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by zero7starz View Post
    I am reading Big Lou's how to on installing busybox as found here: Install Busybox | Root Your Droid

    What I am having trouble with is translating his windows commands to Mac/Unix commands all the way through. I got to the part where it wants me to copy the busybox file from the Android SDK (which I'm not even sure is the right version? I've DLd it a while ago, so does it have to be a new DL?) and I can't tell if its copied it or not because none of the commands I'm trying to translate are working out.

    Can you guys help me please??
    The purpose of those directions is to install busybox on your phone. It is much easier to root your phone and use droidroothelper to install busybox than to follows those commands. Regardless, you will need ROOT on your phone to execute those commands.

    First try downloading this and see if it comes with ADB.

    Download the Android SDK | Android Developers

    If it does your in luck! Otherwise you will have to download a terminal emulator from the market and use your phone to execute those commands, after you find a way to transfer busybox over to your SDCARD.
  4. Master Droid
    MM1 Payne (US Navy)'s Avatar
    Member #
    25616
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Florida.
    Posts
    270
    Phone
    Moto Droid Rooted: BB 950Mhz
    #3
    The roothelper is your best bet, no commands and stuff the phone does iy for you, rooth the phone and download "droid root helper" from the market its free. Folor the directions for it and there you go.
    HPF Turbo Stage II Kit:17,000$
    Blue Candy Paint Finish: 3,000$
    DrOiD Kickin' it on the dashboard:600$

    Watching your ex and her new boyfriend stare at your bimmer as they crash into a tree.....
    PRICELESS
  5. Droid Ninja
    pyro6128's Avatar
    Member #
    23817
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,525
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #4
    +1, I have a mac and asked the same question. Just go with droid root helper like everyone says. Super easy
  6. Senior Droid
    zero7starz's Avatar
    Member #
    27231
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    G1 and MotoDroid
    #5
    I tried that /first/ and the fricken program just FCs and freezes. -_- Thats why I wanted to just do it on the terminal emulator. The phones already rooted and has BB on it, this was just kinda the "last thing" and its becoming the most annoying.

    I'll try unin/reinstaling DRH and see if it'll... well... work
  7. Senior Droid
    zero7starz's Avatar
    Member #
    27231
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    G1 and MotoDroid
    #6
    Uninstall/reinstall got it to fix the FC error, and it did actually allow me to install busybox. Whoop backed up now too >_> so I can continue to play with it and if I effup I can well go back and not have to go through this again. Thx guys.
  8. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by zero7starz View Post
    I tried that /first/ and the fricken program just FCs and freezes. -_- Thats why I wanted to just do it on the terminal emulator. The phones already rooted and has BB on it, this was just kinda the "last thing" and its becoming the most annoying.

    I'll try unin/reinstaling DRH and see if it'll... well... work
    I'm a Mac user. Sunday, I rooted my phone. I did not follow the process developed by BigLou. I used instructions provided by Matth3w (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hac...lator-zip.html). Matt was very helpful during the process.

    I don't know the advantages or disadvantages of the two. Perhaps someone with more expertise can tell you.

    I used firefox to download the files and everything worked as described.

    Now, I want to continue with customizing so I'm trying to figure out if I can use Busybox or will the process I used require me to follow a similar format to the one I used to root and install the BB rom.

    I'm open to suggestions.

    Mike
  9. Senior Droid
    zero7starz's Avatar
    Member #
    27231
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    G1 and MotoDroid
    #8
    I think you could be able to do exactly what I did and get busybox to work.

    Go to the market and DL DroidRootHelper
    Also DL Linda File Manager, AndroZip, and the Zip File in the "Get the Tools" menu (menu as in pressing the menu key) in DRH. (Linda and Andro are both direct linked in the "Get the Tools" as well).

    Once those are all installed, open Linda File Manager and go to the SD Card > AndroZip > Tools. Long press the Tools folder and select Copy. Then go back one screen to the ROOT of your SDCard, and hit Menu+V (hold both) to copy tools to the root of your sdcard. Once that is done, go back to DroidRootHelper.

    In DRH, select the first Mount Option, then Install ad chmod busybox (installs to /system/bin). Then go down and reboot.

    To figure out if busybox has installed, I tried to open Metamorph. Obviously, because it checked for busybox to make sure it was installed before letting me into the program. These steps worked for me
  10. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by zero7starz View Post
    I think you could be able to do exactly what I did and get busybox to work.

    Go to the market and DL DroidRootHelper
    Also DL Linda File Manager, AndroZip, and the Zip File in the "Get the Tools" menu (menu as in pressing the menu key) in DRH. (Linda and Andro are both direct linked in the "Get the Tools" as well).

    Once those are all installed, open Linda File Manager and go to the SD Card > AndroZip > Tools. Long press the Tools folder and select Copy. Then go back one screen to the ROOT of your SDCard, and hit Menu+V (hold both) to copy tools to the root of your sdcard. Once that is done, go back to DroidRootHelper.

    In DRH, select the first Mount Option, then Install ad chmod busybox (installs to /system/bin). Then go down and reboot.

    To figure out if busybox has installed, I tried to open Metamorph. Obviously, because it checked for busybox to make sure it was installed before letting me into the program. These steps worked for me
    Thanks. I will check out the DRH app.Linda, etc. I'm always cautious so I will do a lot of reading before I proceed.

    Mike
  11. Senior Droid
    zero7starz's Avatar
    Member #
    27231
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    G1 and MotoDroid
    #10
    All DRH seems to be is an application that basically writes the code prompts for you, so you don't have to type them in yourself.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What is busybox?
    By thedeathly in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 08:57 PM
  2. busybox help
    By dredge in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 08:36 PM
  3. Busybox Help Please!
    By BigMace23 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:24 PM
  4. Busybox help ?
    By swickdick in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 03:30 PM
  5. Can someone post a video on how to instal 2.1
    By Chrisace89 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 05:53 PM

Search tags for this page

busy box for mac
,

busybox for mac

,

busybox mac

,
busybox mac os x
,
busybox on mac
,
busybox osx
,
install busybox mac
,
install busybox on mac
,
mac busybox
,
mac os x busybox
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+