DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Lost Ability To touch&Hold Search Button And Enter Voice Commands

  1. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #1

    Lost Ability To touch&Hold Search Button And Enter Voice Commands

    Ever since updating to the Sholes mod, touching and holding the search button (little magnifying glass) at the bottom of my screen does nothing. Before, I could touch and hold it, then say something and it would either A) Google it, or B) Do a command such as "Call Emily" or "Navigate to xxxxxx".

    Now when trying to utilize the button, it says, "you haven't enabled qucik compose, please enable it from the handcent settings"

    Any insight? Thanks guys.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #2
    Go into Manage Applications from the Settings, and select Filter All, then find Voice Search and check out it's settings, like its default settings, see if anything weird is going on lol cause I don't really know...

  4. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #3
    I don't notice any settings in the voice dialer that would change anything??
  5. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #4
    Not Voice Dialer, try to find Voice Search.....and yeah there won't be nothing other than buttons for like maybe "Clear cache" and "Clear Defaults" maybe select Clear Defaults and see if that helps.....

    Or wait, try this, find Handcent in the Manage Applications list, and select Clear Defaults for it and see if that brings back the Voice search

  6. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #5
    There is no voice search option... Only Voice Dialer.. Hmm! Could that be my problem?
  7. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #6
    Just reflashed, and what I did different was that I chose TO install the 2.1 voice keyboard. I originally chose not to because I didnt like how the voice icon on the touch keyboard was in place of the "," key.

    Seems to bring up the voice search option, however I still lose the ability to say, "Call xxxx" and have it call them. Instead, now it brings up just a google search of what I said, rather than carrying out the command.

    How do I make it carry out the command? "Navigate to xxxxx" works, but "call xxxx" doesn't.
  8. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #7
    I just checked mine, in manage applications, make sure to hit "filter all" and towards the bottom, actually right under "Voice Dialer" was "Voice Search"....it should be there

    But I dont know why it won't let you carry out a call through voice commands.....thats weird....????

  9. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #8
    Yeah bro since I reflashed and went with the Voice Keyboard option, I now have Voice Search in the manage apps list. It wasnt there before.

    Still doesnt voice dial though!! When I use the Voice Dialer program it works, but it should work with holding down the touch-search button and saying "call xxx"

    Anyone else with some insight? How to rig it back up?
  10. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeppelin420Fan View Post
    Yeah bro since I reflashed and went with the Voice Keyboard option, I now have Voice Search in the manage apps list. It wasnt there before.

    Still doesnt voice dial though!! When I use the Voice Dialer program it works, but it should work with holding down the touch-search button and saying "call xxx"

    Anyone else with some insight? How to rig it back up?
    I tried the voice call thing myself, because I never use it....and whenever I did it, it didn't call the person, it just brought up a list like this: (I said "call mom")

    Call Mom (and had her phone #)
    "call mom" (I guess google search?)

    And that was it but I could click the first one and it would proceed to the dialer....is this what yours is doing?

  11. Junior Droid
    Zeppelin420Fan's Avatar
    Member #
    34939
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid w/Sholes Mod
    #10
    That's what it used to do. Most of the time it would just give me a prompt to dial the number. Now it JUST does a Google search.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Are there ADB commands to disable the search button?
    By thrashtrash in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2010, 08:44 PM
  2. Is there a button that acts as an "Enter" button while texting?
    By itslikecody in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 10:30 PM
  3. Voice Search Commands
    By wheelman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 08:59 AM
  4. Is there a way to search music using voice commands?
    By DurangoJim in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 07:46 PM
  5. BIG voice search button
    By MdicnMan in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 11:57 AM

Search tags for this page

android hold search button default

,

android long hold search edit

,

change function hold down search button android

,

change search key to voice command

,

droid hold search button

,

holding down search button on android

,
how to change what holding down the search button does andro
,

long hold on search button cyanogenmod

,

search button hold android

,

what is the search command on an android charge

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+