DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Monitor Temp of Overclocked Droid.

  1. Senior Droid
    olletsocmit's Avatar
    Member #
    7197
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    238
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Monitor Temp of Overclocked Droid.

    I have my droid clocked at 800mhz and using the BB rom. Loving it so far!

    I use SetCPU to both overclock my phone and also monitor the battery temp. you open SetCPU, then hit system info. Battery temp is the first thing.

    Then i use temp monitor. it puts the cpu temp in the top left taskbar. works pretty well. it seems to be almost the same as the battery temp all the time. does this app really measure cpu temp?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #2
    Ollet,

    I have been round and round with this question in many of the overclock threads. No one has convinced me there is more than one temp sensor on the phone. Perhaps there is an additional sensor in the acclerometer. what one member here told me is the temp app responds quicker to changes in temp. Supposedly quicker than the battery temp info.

    As all of the "stuff" is in the case, including the battery, what I have kinda decided is that rather than try and nail down whether one is better, the app, setcpu or the voice dialer temp, pick one, use it. I can almost guarantee that the cpu does not have a dedicated sensor. Therefore chasing back and forth try to get the official correct one is gonna be like using ap killer programs. A lot of wasted anality

    Craig
  4. Beta Team
    AdamZ's Avatar
    Member #
    19013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Motorola Droid (ROOTED)
    Premium Member
    #3
    Okay... I hope I can clear this up a little at least...

    There is only ONE temperature sensor in the phone... (Unless there is one that no one knows about and no one can access...) The sensor is located near the battery and the processor is located near the "with Google" logo... so they are kind of close - but not close enough. Don't get me wrong... it's the only way we have to monitor it, so I use it as well... but your processor is definitely running at a different temperature than is listed. Even SetCPU will show it says "Battery Temp"... if there was another sensor, I'm sure he would have used it instead...
    (I know I wish there was... )
  5. Master Droid
    LrdElderon's Avatar
    Member #
    26076
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    489
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamZ View Post
    Okay... I hope I can clear this up a little at least...

    There is only ONE temperature sensor in the phone... (Unless there is one that no one knows about and no one can access...) The sensor is located near the battery and the processor is located near the "with Google" logo... so they are kind of close - but not close enough. Don't get me wrong... it's the only way we have to monitor it, so I use it as well... but your processor is definitely running at a different temperature than is listed. Even SetCPU will show it says "Battery Temp"... if there was another sensor, I'm sure he would have used it instead...
    (I know I wish there was... )
    <3 Oh yeah finally someone that devs that agrees with me. I had people argue with me that there was only 1 temp sensor and it was mainly for the battery. They kept trying to say different.

    There are only two issues for .. well three.

    -one is how hot does the proc really get? we need someone that is knowledgeable enough to dismantle the phone and have it run under various loads with a temp sensor probe placed on the cpu itself. It's the only real way to see the change. Someone also mentioned that while cpu heat overall is fine, power segments or whatever they are called could in fact be getting too hot (like 1 core of a quad core burning up but overall the cpu temp avg is normal)...

    -two How hot can the battery actually handle and what effects can we expect if we are constantly reaching or exceeding the max rec temp (45c).?

    -three is kind of a personal matter I guess. Perhaps a list of various cases that work well for overclocked phones. I use the bodyglove, freaking tank of a case. VERY thick and sturdy however it keeps heat trapped like crazy and I see temps hit 40-45+c pretty easy just web browsing....

    edit: doesn't it seem strange to anyone else that we have a modern cpu with no way to show it's temperature? that's been in desktop chips for a long time now... I hope any new versions of cpu that is used in a new moto droid replacement for say 4g (oh please) will have a this mistake remedied.
    Last edited by LrdElderon; 02-06-2010 at 09:35 PM.
  6. Droid Ninja
    R1Lover's Avatar
    Member #
    1022
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northern Ca
    Posts
    1,702
    Phone
    Incredible Droid
    #5
    The processor is rated at -40 through 100 degree's Celsius, so I don't see an issue at all on mine, it get's no where near that.
  7. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #6
    There ARE multiple temp sensors in the phone the battery temp is just the 'easiest' to get as it's has it's own report to the system and can be retrieved w/o major programing. In addition there are and least two other confirmed sensors on the actual board that provide better estimates of the CPU temp because they are temperatures from other board components.
    AllDroid - View topic - [Release] Temp Monitor (Updated 02/02/10)
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
  8. Senior Droid
    olletsocmit's Avatar
    Member #
    7197
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    238
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    Thanks guys. I just looked at my battery temp in both SetCPU and a battery widget, which tells the battery temp. They both said 26. But when i looked at the app TempMonitor (the one the puts the temp in the taskbar, costs 2 bucks) it says 23. so im not sure if TempMonitor is off or the other 2 are.
  9. Senior Droid
    leftbrain99's Avatar
    Member #
    26924
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by olletsocmit View Post
    Thanks guys. I just looked at my battery temp in both SetCPU and a battery widget, which tells the battery temp. They both said 26. But when i looked at the app TempMonitor (the one the puts the temp in the taskbar, costs 2 bucks) it says 23. so im not sure if TempMonitor is off or the other 2 are.
    I think the answer to your question lies in the info at the link just above your post.
  10. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by olletsocmit View Post
    Thanks guys. I just looked at my battery temp in both SetCPU and a battery widget, which tells the battery temp. They both said 26. But when i looked at the app TempMonitor (the one the puts the temp in the taskbar, costs 2 bucks) it says 23. so im not sure if TempMonitor is off or the other 2 are.
    TempMonitor is a more accurate representation of the "CPU" temp because it is taking the temperature from components on the board (i.e. closer to the CPU) and not from the battery sensor.
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
  11. DF News Team
    wuyanks's Avatar
    Member #
    800
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,404
    Phone
    Moto DROID !!!
    Premium Member
    #10
    the Temperature Monitor was written optimally for Taz's new overclock kernels, and it provides temperature from another sensor (presumably on on the board, near the cpu). as such, the temp readings are usually around 2C higher than the battery at any given moment. i highly recommend Taz's new overclock kernels (1.3 was not stable for me though) and i also recommend the Temp monitor (located on the Market for $1.99). awesome reporting in the notification bar!!
    GTalk: mabramson1@gmail.com
    twitter: @m_abramson
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Baby Monitor on Droid?
    By checker555 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 03:51 PM
  2. Droid overclocked to 600mhz!
    By JhankG in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 06:39 AM
  3. Can the droid drive a keyboard & monitor?
    By RXX in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 06:19 PM
  4. THIS is the Droid you were looking for - Overclocked
    By sudermatt in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 01:15 PM
  5. Droid as Backup Camera monitor - Possible?
    By pangler in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 11:12 AM

Search tags for this page

android temp monitor
,
android temperature monitor
,
best android temp monitor
,

best android temperature monitor

,
best temperature monitor android
,

droid temp monitor

,

droid temperature monitor

,
how to check temperature of droid 3
,
monitor max temp on android
,

overclock temperature monitor

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+