DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: help with root and 2.1

  1. Junior Droid
    paul07ss's Avatar
    Member #
    8577
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #1

    help with root and 2.1

    Ok so I rooted the droid so I think anyway... I dowloaded and installed sholes and downloaded setcpu.. I cant oc to 800mhz.. not sure why not.. How would I get android 2.1 now? like the animated backgrounds ect? sorry I am new to this all..
  2. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #2
    You need to set autodetect in setcpu instead of droid. Definitely these are things you should research before attempting them, in my opinion. If you read the third link in my signature it answers those questions for you.
  3. Junior Droid
    paul07ss's Avatar
    Member #
    8577
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    You need to set autodetect in setcpu instead of droid. Definitely these are things you should research before attempting them, in my opinion. If you read the third link in my signature it answers those questions for you.

    I did set it to auto and 600 is the max.
  4. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #4
    You need to give more information, like what ROM you are using, what you used to install it, etc.
  5. Junior Droid
    paul07ss's Avatar
    Member #
    8577
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    You need to give more information, like what ROM you are using, what you used to install it, etc.

    I used SholesMod Updater and installed sholes 2.0.1
  6. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #6
    I'm not familiar enough with Sholes to know what they are overclocking to. If you can slide it to 600 perhaps you have a ROM that only goes to 600, because if you can get it past 550 you are getting it past the stock settings.
  7. Junior Droid
    paul07ss's Avatar
    Member #
    8577
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    I'm not familiar enough with Sholes to know what they are overclocking to. If you can slide it to 600 perhaps you have a ROM that only goes to 600, because if you can get it past 550 you are getting it past the stock settings.
    ok.. just read that they are having an update tomorrow with the 800mhz and 1000mhz.. Mathew thanks for your time... I guess every rom is different? is there a 2.1 rom? or can I just add stuff to my rom? sorry Im all confused haha..
  8. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #8
    Some ROMs are 2.1, some just have 2.1 features like the 5 screen launcher etc.
  9. Junior Droid
    paul07ss's Avatar
    Member #
    8577
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    Some ROMs are 2.1, some just have 2.1 features like the 5 screen launcher etc.
    Mathew, I am confused with "Launcher" is launcher just the home screen? because I chose to use Home++ when the screen popped up and I didnt know what Launcher was for
  10. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #10
    Launcher is your home screen essentially.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [how-to] root humancyborg's 2.1 [and any other rom without root]
    By iSecks in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 01:11 PM
  2. Root App
    By ibalboa54 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 01:12 AM
  3. Root/Un-root Catch 22
    By mchambone in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 03:33 PM
  4. Cant root
    By Sidewind in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 10:10 PM
  5. How to KEEP root
    By Se7enLC in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 04:31 PM
Find us on Google+