DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it possible to modify my Droid so it doesnt use a data plan but just a voice plan?

  1. Junior Droid
    apex2001's Avatar
    Member #
    216784
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    DroidX
    #1

    Is it possible to modify my Droid so it doesnt use a data plan but just a voice plan?

    Isn't their a procedure or swaping some card out from a flip phone with just a voice plan and installing it in a smartphone?
  2. Master Droid
    hondaguy520's Avatar
    Member #
    21014
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    sw florida
    Posts
    277
    Liked
    9 times
    Twitter
    @brandenstaack
    Phone
    gnexus
    #2
    If I'm not mistaken I think Verizon requires you to have a data plan... I guess you could get the cheapest one then turn off data in the phone settings then use wifi when available

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  3. Junior Droid
    apex2001's Avatar
    Member #
    216784
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    DroidX
    #3
    Dosn't matter. They charge for data even if you don't use it.
  4. Master Droid
    hondaguy520's Avatar
    Member #
    21014
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    sw florida
    Posts
    277
    Liked
    9 times
    Twitter
    @brandenstaack
    Phone
    gnexus
    #4
    I know you have to have some type of plan but you can get the cheapest one if you want... you can't have no data at all and have the phone activated
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  5. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by apex2001 View Post
    Isn't their a procedure or swaping some card out from a flip phone with just a voice plan and installing it in a smartphone?
    Sorry but if you have a smartphone on a line of service with Verizon you will be charged for a data plan regardless if you plan to use the carrier data or not.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

  6. Droid
    cyborg03's Avatar
    Member #
    167849
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    incredible
    #6
    True needed to swap a phone around till the other was replaced and as soon as I put in the numbersin. I had to change plans. both phones had data plans but they were differnet enough to warrent a change.
    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. data plan on old alltel plan usage for Droid X2????
    By predatrrider in forum Motorola Droid X2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2012, 11:01 PM
  2. Droid without Data Plan
    By beni1512 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-30-2011, 05:38 PM
  3. getting a droid x without a data plan
    By qman66 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 06:49 PM
  4. My Wife doesnt need a Data Plan....
    By ZX-10R in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 03:42 PM
  5. Is the Verizon txt plan part of the data plan?
    By miltk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:11 PM

Search tags for this page

can i have a droid without a data plan

,

droid x without data plan

,

droid x2 no data plan

,

droid x2 without data plan

,
how to use a droid without a data plan
,
is it possible to get a droid without a data plan
,

is it possible to have a droid without a data plan

,
is it possible to use a droid without a data plan
,
use droid x without data plan
,
using a droid without a data plan
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+