DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

View Poll Results: Do you use compcache, swap, both or none of them?

Voters
8. You may not vote on this poll
  • Compcache

    1 12.50%
  • Swap

    3 37.50%
  • Both

    0 0%
  • none

    4 50.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Swap or compcache or both or none

  1. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #1

    Swap or compcache or both or none

    Hopefully one of the mods can turn this into a poll but I've been curious as to what everyone uses and why. So do you use compcache, swap, both or none of them and why do you use (or not use) them and why.

    Personally I usually use swap because it always seems to lag much less than compcache and it fills up much more slowly allowing me to not worry about clearing it very often

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    CJM's Avatar
    Member #
    117189
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    8,995
    Liked
    1036 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    Premium Member
    #2
    None. Seemed like my phone eventually slowed down with either, so I gave up using them.

    Tapped from an Unbrickable DROID
  4. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #3
    I've been using a swap partition for about 6 months now. Seems like that was the only way for my phone to run any gingerbread ROM. Have been using winner00s cm7 builds about as long. Would like some script or somethin so I don't have to use swapper2. I remember there was a thread awhile ago I was talking with somebody I think kevdog about it but have No idea where it would be at. But yea I use a 64mb swap partition with swapper2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #4
    There is a way without swapper2. Run this in terminal emulator or copy/paste it into any script in /etc/init.d (if you have an init.d folder) or use script manager to make a script with this in it and run it at boot

    swapon /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    and to turn it off
    swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

    Btw I pulled that from swapper2 itself lol under advanced settings it says the default directory for the swap partition and I found the swapon and swapoff scripts from running busybox in terminal to show all available commands

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
    Last edited by metalspring; 10-30-2011 at 09:41 PM.
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  6. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by metalspring View Post
    There is a way without swapper2. Run this in terminal emulator or copy/paste it into any script in /etc/init.d (if you have an init.d folder) or use script manager to make a script with this in it and run it at boot

    swapon /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    and to turn it off
    swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

    Btw I pulled that from swapper2 itself lol under advanced settings it says the default directory for the swap partition and I found the swapon and swapoff scripts from running busybox in terminal to show all available commands

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
    Yea I sometimes had to use that when I was having trouble with swapper2. Thanks again for that tho, it's a very useful command. And Yea I do have a /etc/unit.d/ folder, I'm on cm7. Now how do you go about setting swappiness? In the /etc/sysctl.conf file?
    Was it you that listed all those sysctl commands in a different thread? I take it that's the same file those are related to? So I could just set swappiness to like 5 or 10 and I'd be all set? Tons of questions I know. Then I could check if it's working by looking in the memory section of SetCPU.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by meishkov View Post
    Yea I sometimes had to use that when I was having trouble with swapper2. Thanks again for that tho, it's a very useful command. And Yea I do have a /etc/unit.d/ folder, I'm on cm7. Now how do you go about setting swappiness? In the /etc/sysctl.conf file?
    Was it you that listed all those sysctl commands in a different thread? I take it that's the same file those are related to? So I could just set swappiness to like 5 or 10 and I'd be all set? Tons of questions I know. Then I could check if it's working by looking in the memory section of SetCPU.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Several ways to set swappiness
    1. Add this into the sysctl.config file
    vm.swappiness = 30
    2. Add this at the end of the first script in init.d
    sysctl -w vm.swappiness = 30
    3. Run this in terminal emulator (not sure this way sticks though)
    sysctl -w vm.swappiness=30
    Btw keep all spacing the same

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  8. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #7
    What about all those other values you were talking mixing and matching in the sysctl thread I can still use those right? Thanks again

    By the way I've been running swappiness at 5 so it takes longer to fill up or whatever. Or is that too low?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by meishkov View Post
    What about all those other values you were talking mixing and matching in the sysctl thread I can still use those right? Thanks again

    By the way I've been running swappiness at 5 so it takes longer to fill up or whatever. Or is that too low?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Yeah you can use all of those and as for 5 being too low it all depends on your usage. Just run everything for a day or so like you'd normally do without rebooting then type in
    free
    in terminal emulator and if you still have tons of swap space left then you can increase it

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  10. Developer Relations
    CJM's Avatar
    Member #
    117189
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    8,995
    Liked
    1036 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    Premium Member
    #9
    Poll added
  11. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #10
    Hey metalspring thanks for all your help man. I've been running without swapper2 and just that swapon command, but how does it manage itself? In other words does it know to restart once the majority of free swap memory is used up?

    I've also been running all those sysctl tweaks you posted so the swappiness is set at 30, or does that not even effect swap??
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Last edited by meishkov; 10-31-2011 at 09:46 PM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. CM7 - Swap? Compcache? Both?
    By chmcclellan in forum Cyanogenmod
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 05:44 PM
  2. UD 3.0 Compcache
    By Phatdaddyz01 in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 10:32 AM
  3. LGB and Compcache
    By Trips555 in forum Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 06:04 PM
  4. Swap/compcache/ramzswap
    By juniorjwh in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 01:30 PM
  5. Compcache on UD 2.1.0 help
    By bdub33 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 02:20 AM

Search tags for this page

android compcache

,
bionic compcache
,
compcache 26%
,

compcache android

,

compcache vs swap

,
compcache yea android
,
how to compcache android
,
swap and compcache
,

swap vs compcache

,
using swap and compcache
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+