DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: HELP - Installed Hero 2.1 on Moto Droid - F'ed up

  1. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Thumbs down HELP - Installed Hero 2.1 on Moto Droid - F'ed up

    Hi guys... it's great to be a member... Thanks for having me.
    I hate this to be my first post, but I don't know what else to do...

    So I followed the step by step How To Get 2.1 On Your Droid the Simple Way and when I got to the part where you update the Nandroid file (the BCDMRS-20091224-1914), it stopped with a "Error... System 28" or something...
    So I tried a different image and had a Hero 2.1 image (Hero2.1-BCDMRS-20091222-2109) which I used... bad move....

    Now it's 2.1 but the HTC version which doesn't work on my Droid properly.
    First the only way to keep the phone on is by keeping it plugged into my USB hooked up to my computer. And it THINKS it's on the multi-media docking station.

    It won't connect to the internet, I can't make calls, the virtual keyboard is all screwy, and I can't mount it to the computer in order to install my backup.

    Does ANYONE have a solution? I can't do anything with it...

    This sucks........ REALLY SUCKS!!!!
  2. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #2

    did I just brick the phone?

    It's not reading anything on my phone. Wi-Fi won't turn on... It's roaming.... the USB won't mount to the computer...

    Does anyone have any idea what to do?
  3. Administrator
    cereal killer's Avatar
    Member #
    88
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    11,046
    Liked
    1562 times
    Phone
    Nokia Lumia 928
    Premium Member
    #3
    moved your thread to the appropriate area.

    The devs/members in this section are top notch with these types of issues.

    Hang tight and be patient....
  4. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    Thanks... just don't tell my girlfriend... she'll kill me...
    I'm trying to see if I can dig around in the settings somewhere...

    Has this happened to anyone else or am I the only idiot...?
  5. Developer
    winner00's Avatar
    Member #
    4915
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,112
    Liked
    57 times
    Twitter
    expertontech
    Phone
    LTE Galaxy Nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #5
    That HTC rom isn't meant for everyday use. Its only meant for testing and for devs.
    To fix it turn it off then put it in recovery (Hold x on startup ,then push camera and volume up.) You then should be able to mount the sd card under the mount menu. Before you use one of these roms I would make sure to wipe data/cache then install one of these roms. I would use one of these roms: AllDroid - View topic - [ROM] Bugless Beauty w/ Easy Uninstall Feature! 0.6
    AllDroid - View topic - [ROM .tgz] 2.0.1 Sholes.info Edition 1.1 (UPDATED: 01/16/10)
    These roms arn't 2.1 but they are 2.0.1 with all of the 2.1 one stuff on them. The first one doesn't have the 2.1 launcher but still has five pages. The second one you can choose between 2.1 launcher or 2.0.1 launcher.
    Last edited by winner00; 01-21-2010 at 05:05 PM.
  6. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    I get the following:

    Android System Recovery <2e>
    Patched by SirPsychoS (0.10.1)

    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    mount /system
    mount /data

    I mount /system and the /data... yet I am still unable to access it from my PC.
    It asks me to insert a drive.
  7. Developer
    winner00's Avatar
    Member #
    4915
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,112
    Liked
    57 times
    Twitter
    expertontech
    Phone
    LTE Galaxy Nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    You need to upgrade to the latest version of sprecovery. Follow this guide: Installation | Sholes
    Go to the "Updating to the newest recovery image" part of the guide.
    Last edited by winner00; 01-21-2010 at 05:13 PM.
  8. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    I can't get the adb to work. it's unfortunate because the SD card is not being picked up by the phone nor the computer.

    I'm connected for USB debugging on Android and MotoConnect recognizes the phone being connected.

    Then I added abd to the system PATH.
    In the command prompt after entering adb push recovery-0.99.2b.img /sdcard/
    I get:
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
  9. Junior Droid
    mfdemby's Avatar
    Member #
    29830
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Hmmmm... now the phone won't stay on after I disconnect it from the computer. WOW this thing is screwed up. I think the BEST bet would be to take it to the Verizon store and have them reinstall the phone software... would that be the best option?
  10. Senior Droid
    drewshaver's Avatar
    Member #
    2127
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    121
    Phone
    verizon droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by mfdemby View Post
    Hmmmm... now the phone won't stay on after I disconnect it from the computer. WOW this thing is screwed up. I think the BEST bet would be to take it to the Verizon store and have them reinstall the phone software... would that be the best option?
    I would reccomend not going to the store, if they know you messed with the software like this your warranty will probably be void. Sorry can't really help you returning to stock though.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Gallery no longer installed after droid upgrade
    By gardener in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:06 AM
  2. hin Browser installed twice on my Droid?
    By mikespe in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 10:42 AM
  3. Android 2.1 w/ SenseUI for Hero OUT NOW (what does this mean for us)
    By zfly9 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 09:11 AM
  4. Full Screen Hero Widget for Droid
    By zfly9 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 01:23 PM
  5. Bloomberg on Motorola Droid: Verizon's Hero
    By JohnDroid in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 12:12 AM

Search tags for this page

- exec /system/bin/sh failed: exec format error (8) -

,
/data/local/flash image not found
,
can't push to sdcard read only file system
,

droid f

,
droid-f
,
droidf
,

exec /system/bin/sh failed: exec format error (8)

,

exec /system/bin/sh failed: exec format error (8) -

,
failed to copy flash image to '/sdcard//flash image': read-o
,
motorola devour removed sd card
,
motorola devour sd card removed
,
unable to chmod sdcard read-only file system
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+