DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking for Aviation GPS App

1. Droid Newbie
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here

Looking for Aviation GPS App

I fly quite a bit, and wanted to utilize my droid for navigation. Seems pretty simple.. You could overlay the GPS over sectional charts froma site like SKYVECTOR.COM. You can even get more complex to include weather, TFRs and other features... anyone thought of/done this?
  2. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    If your a passanger forget it, by regulation no transmitters or receivers on during flight.
  3. Droid Newbie
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    Quote Originally Posted by missin44 View Post
    If your a passanger forget it, by regulation no transmitters or receivers on during flight.
    No I'm a pilot... want to use my phone to navigate.
  4. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
  5. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    DROID
    Having a cell phone on doesn't actually do anything. I had my Droid on during a flight about 1.5 weeks ago. We didn't crash. There's also an episode of mythbusters on this topic...they couldn't get anything remotely close to interfering.
  6. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    BB9530
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyandem View Post
    I fly quite a bit, and wanted to utilize my droid for navigation. Seems pretty simple.. You could overlay the GPS over sectional charts froma site like SKYVECTOR.COM. You can even get more complex to include weather, TFRs and other features... anyone thought of/done this?
    It's been a long time since I used it, but doesn't DUATS or DTC-DUAT allow GPS overlay? Seems like it did back when I got my first BlackBerry, but of course it didn't have GPS. But I seem to remember wishing it did.