DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connecting to Adhoc networks?

  1. Junior Droid
    firefalldown's Avatar
    Member #
    24875
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Exclamation Connecting to Adhoc networks?

    Is there a hack to enable the droid to connect to adhoc networks? Not wifi tethering but sharing your internet connection to the droid from the computer. I saw this thread for the g1

    Connect G1 to Ad-hoc network SOLVED - Android and G1 Forums, Mods, Hacks, News, Downloads, Skins, Themes, and more! | ModMyGphone

    But it didn't work for the droid...
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    bb-gun's Avatar
    Member #
    20918
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    151
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    Why would you want to do that?
  4. Master Droid
    blake2050's Avatar
    Member #
    24519
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    342
    Phone
    moto droid
    #3
    exactly..from the computer to the droid, you have a perfectly good wifi.
  5. Droid Newbie
    halesq57's Avatar
    Member #
    30406
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    I have the same issue...I'm trying to connect to a network on my HTC TP2 running WMWifiRouter...from what I can gather it has something to do with the Droid not seeing a SSID#...I've downloaded Hidden SSID Enabler but have not been able to figure out what ##'s to enter...any suggestions?
  6. Droid Newbie
    tujj99's Avatar
    Member #
    24678
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by firefalldown View Post
    Is there a hack to enable the droid to connect to adhoc networks? Not wifi tethering but sharing your internet connection to the droid from the computer. I saw this thread for the g1

    Connect G1 to Ad-hoc network SOLVED - Android and G1 Forums, Mods, Hacks, News, Downloads, Skins, Themes, and more! | ModMyGphone

    But it didn't work for the droid...
    Currently, there's no way to connect Droid to an adhoc network, but if you are running at Window7 you can set up an soft WIFI network by Virtual Router Manager,have fun.
  7. Junior Droid
    firefalldown's Avatar
    Member #
    24875
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by tujj99 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by firefalldown View Post
    Is there a hack to enable the droid to connect to adhoc networks? Not wifi tethering but sharing your internet connection to the droid from the computer. I saw this thread for the g1

    Connect G1 to Ad-hoc network SOLVED - Android and G1 Forums, Mods, Hacks, News, Downloads, Skins, Themes, and more! | ModMyGphone

    But it didn't work for the droid...
    Currently, there's no way to connect Droid to an adhoc network, but if you are running at Window7 you can set up an soft WIFI network by Virtual Router Manager,have fun.
    Just what I was looking for, Thanks!
  8. Droid Newbie
    halesq57's Avatar
    Member #
    30406
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Just got this from the support folks at WMWifiRouter:
    Our apologies for not getting back to you sooner.

    Indeed, Android devices by default cannot connect to ad-hoc networks. A rather silly restriction, as the
    device is more than capable to use these networks - Google just didn't build it into the interface.

    Note that an ad-hoc network and a Hidden SSID are two unrelated things.

    Unfortunately, there is no way around this issue unless your device is rooted. In that case we still cannot
    tell you which commands to execute to be able to connect, but we know it is possible if you have root.

    Kinds regards,
    WMWifiRouter Customer Support

    There's a thread here:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...oot-users.html

    that goes into great detail about rooting a Droid...way too complicated for me...I think I'll just wait until Google updates the Android OS.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. adhoc, not internet tethering
    By bakin113 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 05:50 PM
  2. connecting to a PC
    By krmman1962 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 07:05 AM
  3. Website not connecting
    By jnev in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 11:10 AM
  4. "Use wireless networks"/GPS
    By mynameiserich in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 12:40 AM
  5. Any app for Connecting to a FTP server?
    By Mach1Club in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 09:50 AM

Search tags for this page

ad hoc android

,
ad hoc android 2.1
,
ad hoc wifi how to enable on droid 4
,
connect ad-hoc for android
,
connect droid to ad hoc network
,

droid ad hoc

,
how to connect adhoc network on android
,
how to connet an andriod phoe with wmwifirouter
,
how to enable connecting to ad hoc network in android
,
se puede hackear ad hoc
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+