DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62

Thread: adb shell question

  1. Master Droid
    evilsock's Avatar
    Member #
    3833
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    knox county TN
    Posts
    618
    Phone
    droid 2 rooted
    #1

    adb shell question

    i have adb shell running good on pc to droid, i have the andriod folder there with tools folder ect, but when i try to access it using
    adb push....ect it says no such file or directory
    example im trying to move bootanimation from android/tools folder on my pc
    in command window i type
    adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local
    says so such file or directory
    ive tried other ways to communicate with that folder with no luck am i missing something?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #2
    Make sure that you are running the push command from within the directory you are trying to push the file from, or give the full path to the file you are trying to push, or add the full path to the tools directory (where the adb executable is located) to your path variable.
  4. Master Droid
    evilsock's Avatar
    Member #
    3833
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    knox county TN
    Posts
    618
    Phone
    droid 2 rooted
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by kevdog View Post
    Make sure that you are running the push command from within the directory you are trying to push the file from, or give the full path to the file you are trying to push, or add the full path to the tools directory (where the adb executable is located) to your path variable.
    please explain, i am new to all of this, aside from opening adb shell and typing what i see on forum, i know only of term emu on phone which im fine with. when people post commands they need to post everyone up to opening the terminal, i think they assume well know, but i just typed exactly what i saw im bootanomation thread
  5. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #4
    What platform are you working with -- Windows, Mac, Linux?
  6. Master Droid
    evilsock's Avatar
    Member #
    3833
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    knox county TN
    Posts
    618
    Phone
    droid 2 rooted
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by kevdog View Post
    What platform are you working with -- Windows, Mac, Linux?
    win xp 32 bit

    and the "ANDROID" folder is in the root of C:\ drive as specified in instructions to get adb working
    Last edited by evilsock; 01-09-2010 at 11:31 PM.
  7. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #6
    You might want to look up how to add the tools directory to your path, but I've tried to include a screen cap that gives you and idea.

    Right Click on My Computer on your Desktop and then select Properties. Using my image, you should be able to navigate to your environmental variables, and then add the full path to your tools directory. It might be the following: (I stress might!!!) since it depends where you have your adb installation located:
    C:\android-sdk_r3-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails adb shell question-adb-path.jpg  
  8. Master Droid
    evilsock's Avatar
    Member #
    3833
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    knox county TN
    Posts
    618
    Phone
    droid 2 rooted
    #7
    do not have PATH only temp and tmp in 1st box on top, in the 2nd window there is a Path but its not all uppercase
  9. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #8
    Create the new environment variable for the user then. The PATH statement listed in the lower box is the system wide PATH statement that is appended to the individual user PATH statement if it exists.
  10. Master Droid
    evilsock's Avatar
    Member #
    3833
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    knox county TN
    Posts
    618
    Phone
    droid 2 rooted
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by kevdog View Post
    Create the new environment variable for the user then. The PATH statement listed in the lower box is the system wide PATH statement that is appended to the individual user PATH statement if it exists.
    i make the name PATH what do i put in "variable value" box?
  11. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #10
    As previously stated:

    and then add the full path to your tools directory. It might be the following: (I stress might!!!) since it depends where you have your adb installation located:
    C:\android-sdk_r3-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Better Bash (or other shell) for 2.0.1
    By hughesjr in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 09:45 AM
  2. Shell/Holster Combo problem.
    By nubirai in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 11:29 AM
  3. Activating the adb shell?
    By Natolx in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 07:21 PM
  4. Loose shell around the USB jack
    By Jaylor in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 11:58 PM
  5. Do you have the Shell/Holster Case???
    By ss13 in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 11:13 AM

Search tags for this page

abd kill-server failed
,

adb kill server failed

,
adb kill-server
,

adb kill-server failed

,
adb kill-server failed -- run manually if necessary
,
adb kill-server failed -- run manually if necessary.
,
adb kill-server failed run manually
,
adb kill-server' failed
,
adb kill-server' failed -- run manually if necessary
,
adb-kill server failed
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+