DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Rom Manager- something went wrong

  1. Droid Newbie
    djsnowflake's Avatar
    Member #
    171325
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #1

    Rom Manager- something went wrong

    Ok I have a rooted Original Droid, I rooted it with Soup or root. Yesterday I installed Rom Manager on it, I created a backup, and tried to install CyanogenMod, when the phone rebooted it seemed to be reset, everything was like when I first got it, except for the fact superuser, is on it, it's still rooted. I can't open market, I got rom manager on there through g-mail but it says clockworkmod recovery is not flashed, (which is should be since I was able to use it just before rebooting my phone) and it wont let me flash CMR because it "can't connect to server" on good wifi and 3G. I got root explorer on there and and Im pretty sure I didn't lose anything, I just don't know how to restore that back up. Can anybody help?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by djsnowflake View Post
    Ok I have a rooted Original Droid, I rooted it with Soup or root. Yesterday I installed Rom Manager on it, I created a backup, and tried to install CyanogenMod, when the phone rebooted it seemed to be reset, everything was like when I first got it, except for the fact superuser, is on it, it's still rooted. I can't open market, I got rom manager on there through g-mail but it says clockworkmod recovery is not flashed, (which is should be since I was able to use it just before rebooting my phone) and it wont let me flash CMR because it "can't connect to server" on good wifi and 3G. I got root explorer on there and and Im pretty sure I didn't lose anything, I just don't know how to restore that back up. Can anybody help?
    I think you used an old and out of date rooting method that probably doesn't work now. Go here and follow his directions: Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version
    Baton Rouge, LA
  4. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #3
    Souporroot sucks. Hate to break it to you. So does ROM Manager for a lot of people, especially when it stops working or flat out breaks. When they work, they work great, but when they break...

    Sounds like you're having a bad day. There are ways to fix it, but you're going to have to do the legwork yourself. Comfortable with that? I hope so!

    BayouFlyFisher posted the right link. For FRG83D/2.2.1 it's the best method to root we have. You'll need a PC with Windows on it and Administrator access to do it. If you have Linux, you'll need a program called SBF Flash instead. If that won't work we have some other methods that can force the issue. Good luck and let us know!
  5. Droid Newbie
    djsnowflake's Avatar
    Member #
    171325
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #4
    Well my phone is still rooted, should I unroot and then re root the correct way.
  6. Master Droid
    Jasko's Avatar
    Member #
    32987
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #5
    I hate to hi-jack a thread, and also create a new one in regards to the same app. but I'm rooted, have Rom Manager, and am using Project Elite 4.2. I'm trying to backup / load a new rom....... every time I do this through Rom Manager, hitting backup first or even just straight wipe, the phone shuts down and reboots normally and does not back up or wipe.

    Is there a reason why it's doing this? I've read that Rom Manager sucks, but it's all I know as of right now. What other apps could I use to back up / load roms?
  7. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jasko View Post
    I hate to hi-jack a thread, and also create a new one in regards to the same app. but I'm rooted, have Rom Manager, and am using Project Elite 4.2. I'm trying to backup / load a new rom....... every time I do this through Rom Manager, hitting backup first or even just straight wipe, the phone shuts down and reboots normally and does not back up or wipe.

    Is there a reason why it's doing this? I've read that Rom Manager sucks, but it's all I know as of right now. What other apps could I use to back up / load roms?



    Clockwork Notes:

    The first thing about Clockwork is trying to get Rom Manager to flash a good copy onto your phone. Here is a fool proof method to determine whether you have a good copy before trying to reboot into it. Begin by scrolling down and flashing the alternative recovery SpRecovery. After it successfully loads, scroll up and flash Clockwork. If it takes longer than 3-5 seconds to get the popup telling you the install was successful, reflash it over and over until you do get that popup in 3-5 seconds. Once that happens, you have a good install.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  8. Master Droid
    Jasko's Avatar
    Member #
    32987
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #7
    Thanks for the quick reply. I tried what you posted and it did indeed work.

    Thank you.
  9. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Jasko View Post
    Thanks for the quick reply. I tried what you posted and it did indeed work.

    Thank you.
    Glad to hear it!! I used Clockwork for almost a year before recently switching to RZR 2.0. I never, ever had any faith in Rom Manager though. I know it mostly works now, but I've grown really fond of doing things (backups, installs, etc.) manually. It just gives me more opportunities to play with my phone!!

    Good luck.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  10. Droid Newbie
    djsnowflake's Avatar
    Member #
    171325
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #9
    ok I have now unrooted, and re rooted using the method BayouFlyFisher suggested. Now what should I do to flash a new rom?
  11. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #10
    Download the rom file and treat it just like the update.zip file you used to root. Make a backup and do a full wipe first, though. Just in case.

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. There is something seriously wrong with this......
    By Freezetron in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 10:17 AM
  2. Help! Battery manager on Advanced Task Manager has error
    By buffalo_nickel in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 12:53 PM
  3. What am I doing wrong?
    By sniper6 in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 04:21 PM
  4. What Did I do Wrong????
    By gpguy25 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 02:31 PM
  5. what is wrong with the GPS?
    By tndroid in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 06:25 PM

Search tags for this page

droid rom manager
,
failed to seek in /cache/update.zip
,

failed to seek in cache update.zip

,
rom manager invalid argument
,
rom manager keeps rebooting my droid 2 when trying to backup
,

rom manager og droid

,

rom manager sucks

,
rom manager won't open
,
rom manager wont backup
,

rom manager wrong phone

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+