DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: ADB on Mac

  1. Droid
    Dandroid247's Avatar
    Member #
    7709
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    86
    Phone
    Droid
    #11
    yeah, i just got mine working too bro. I just need a big dictionary of what some of this stuff means cause I have so many questions. Like, whats a daemon?? And, do I have to type ./ for all commands? And, the whole shell thing I haven't fully grasped the concept of but I'm working on it for sure. Or su which I'm guessing means super user? So much to learn, I love it.
  2. Master Droid
    mammlouk's Avatar
    Member #
    15042
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    316
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #12
    Anytime you are running a command that is not in a directory that's part of your PATH variable you need to either use the full path to the executable or use ./ while in the directory the file is located in.
  3. Master Droid
    mammlouk's Avatar
    Member #
    15042
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    316
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #13
    If you want to try and get a handle on using the terminal you might check out INX, it's a linux live CD that is completely command line based and has some good quick lessons to get you up and running!
    INX Is Not X : A command line and console Linux "Live CD" based on a minimal Ubuntu, without the X window system graphical interface. INX has some surprising capabilities...
  4. Droid
    Dandroid247's Avatar
    Member #
    7709
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    86
    Phone
    Droid
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by mammlouk View Post
    Anytime you are running a command that is not in a directory that's part of your PATH variable you need to either use the full path to the executable or use ./ while in the directory the file is located in.
    so like when you run a cd command you don't have to use the ./ because you aren't actually performing a command inside a directory? But if run an install command then you have to use ./ because you are actually performing a directory command?

    Is that even close to being right? I'm sorry if these are dumb questions for real . I'm also guessing that path variable means the entire string like the whole users/username/location/blah/blah right?
  5. Droid
    Dandroid247's Avatar
    Member #
    7709
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    86
    Phone
    Droid
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by mammlouk View Post
    If you want to try and get a handle on using the terminal you might check out INX, it's a linux live CD that is completely command line based and has some good quick lessons to get you up and running!
    INX Is Not X : A command line and console Linux "Live CD" based on a minimal Ubuntu, without the X window system graphical interface. INX has some surprising capabilities...
    thanx yo, that is gonna be lots of help, at least it should be anyway lol. I really do appreciate the patience with my questions. I just really get into this stuff and this being all new and me loving to learn makes for a dangerous combination. Im definitely gonna play around with this and see what I can do. I would really like to figure out the whole busybox thing to because I'm not quite sure what all it does but that is for another thread I think
  6. Master Droid
    mach330's Avatar
    Member #
    1784
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The OC
    Posts
    683
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #16
    gotta try this later as well.
  7. Master Droid
    mammlouk's Avatar
    Member #
    15042
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    316
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Dandroid247 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mammlouk View Post
    If you want to try and get a handle on using the terminal you might check out INX, it's a linux live CD that is completely command line based and has some good quick lessons to get you up and running!
    INX Is Not X : A command line and console Linux "Live CD" based on a minimal Ubuntu, without the X window system graphical interface. INX has some surprising capabilities...
    thanx yo, that is gonna be lots of help, at least it should be anyway lol. I really do appreciate the patience with my questions. I just really get into this stuff and this being all new and me loving to learn makes for a dangerous combination. Im definitely gonna play around with this and see what I can do. I would really like to figure out the whole busybox thing to because I'm not quite sure what all it does but that is for another thread I think
    Busybox is basically an "embedded" version of the GNU toolset that replaces standard unix commands, it provides things like the "cp", "ln", and "mv" commands. This just makes using a shell on the droid a bit more user friendly and more like a standard linux environment.
  8. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #18
    Is it possible to have the terminal on my mac start up using the adb command so that I don't have to type everything in each time?
  9. Droid
    Dandroid247's Avatar
    Member #
    7709
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    86
    Phone
    Droid
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    Is it possible to have the terminal on my mac start up using the adb command so that I don't have to type everything in each time?
    Somebody posted in the other thread that if you just drag the tools folder into terminal it'll map it out automatically. So now I just type in cd then drag and drop the tools folder, hit return and its good to go.
  10. Master Droid
    mammlouk's Avatar
    Member #
    15042
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    316
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #20
    I'm not really sure what you mean by "start up with the adb command". Do you mean start an adb shell? Do you mean with adb in the path so you don't have to change directories to use it? Try to explain a bit more.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

adb download for mac
,
adb download mac
,

adb for mac

,
adb for mac download
,

adb mac

,
adb mac download
,

adb on mac

,
download adb for mac
,
download adb mac
,
mac adb download
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+