DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What does a nandroid backup save?

  1. Junior Droid
    FishMann's Avatar
    Member #
    6325
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    What does a nandroid backup save?

    Does it backup the current ROM? I am currently still on droidmod (2.0.1 baby!), but the times they are a changing and its time to move forward. Say I flash cyanogen but for whatever reason im not satisfied with something. Can I just wipe everything and do a restore to get back to Droidmod?
    Last edited by FishMann; 01-10-2011 at 08:00 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    FishMann's Avatar
    Member #
    6325
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    Or another way to ask this might be:
    Does rom manager really do anything other than provide a nice UI to work from?
  4. Senior Droid
    Jeyman's Avatar
    Member #
    85754
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by FishMann View Post
    Or another way to ask this might be:
    Does rom manager really do anything other than provide a nice UI to work from?
    Anything Rom manager does can be done via your recover program/terminal emulator.
  5. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by FishMann View Post
    Does it backup the current ROM? I am currently still on droidmod (2.0.1 baby!), but the times they are a changing and its time to move forward. Say I flash cyanogen but for whatever reason im not satisfied with something. Can I just wipe everything and do a restore to get back to Droidmod?
    Yes. But I doubt you'll be dissatisfied. Just make sure . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by FishMann View Post
    Or another way to ask this might be:
    Does rom manager really do anything other than provide a nice UI to work from?
    . . . . . you do the wipe before installing cyanogenmod and install the gapps as well. I like rom manager because of the way I can tell it what to do, set my phone down and do something else, then next thing I know, my phone is booted with the new rom.

    But on my last install of cyanogen, I used rom manager to 'backup my current rom', that way I could add to the name to personalize it some. Then after the phone rebooted, I booted into recovery and (i had downloaded cm and gapps with my pc and xfer'd them myself to my sdcard) selected factory data rest, then flash rom from sdcard, selected the cm rom. Once it was done, and before rebooting the phone, I did it again (flash rom from sdcard) and selected the gapps. I did it again for a couple of other things, but that's hot important for my answer to you here. Just use the power button to back out and then reboot your phone, sign back into your google account, and now THIS is IMPORTANT:

    I believe the apps restore got much more robust with Froyo (or did it even exist in Eclair?). Anyways, my best solution is to set the phone down and LEAVE IT ALONE UNTOUCHED until you see a 'xxx applications restored' message in your notification bar. Otherwise, you will end up with some really wonky stuff going on with your market.

    I use MyBackupPro to backup my apps and then restore those that don't get auto restored and to backup my sms, mms, call log, and bookmarks as well.

    good luck
    Last edited by teddyearp; 01-10-2011 at 10:42 PM.
  6. Junior Droid
    FishMann's Avatar
    Member #
    6325
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Obviously I already have sprecovery flashed. Can i just go ahead and flash clockwork over it without problems?
  7. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #6
    Yes. 10char

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Nandroid Backup
    By bmr7c in forum Droid X FAQ
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 07:09 PM
  2. How do you Backup and save games
    By posttal in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 12:33 PM
  3. Nandroid backup issue: Nandroid exited with status 34
    By gnome_sayin in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 02:59 AM
  4. Nandroid backup...
    By Morgan Roloff in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 08:57 PM
  5. Nandroid backup???
    By hodgewdm in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 01:49 PM

Search tags for this page

how does nandroid backup work

,
how does nandroid work
,
how nandroid works
,

what does a nandroid backup save

,

what does nandroid backup

,

what does nandroid backup save

,
what does nandroid save
,
where do nandroid backups get saved
,
where does nandroid save backups
,
will a nandroid
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+