DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: need help can a Droid 1 connect to a router

  1. Junior Droid
    helinut's Avatar
    Member #
    64351
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Full Time Rver, Home is where I am parked
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 1 and Fascinate
    #1

    need help can a Droid 1 connect to a router

    I have been following this forum for a while. I have had a Droid 1 since last April. It is stock. I just purchased a Samsung Fascinate, so I could use it as a Hot spot. I was not aware a 2gig limit came into play when in Hot spot mode. I have read the post on rooting. I have printed the instructions and downloaded all the files.

    I want to root my Droid so that it can either be hooked to my Linksys router or a Cradle point I would need to buy. Not sure what ROM or Tether program would work.


    I have been successful creating a bridge between my Droid running PDAnet and my Linksys router. Problem is it crashes after about 45 minutes and then I have to delete the bridge and start over. Not a good option for me.

    Moderators feel free to move this if it would be better some where else.

    WayneR
    Last edited by helinut; 01-10-2011 at 03:41 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #2
    What do you mean connect to a router? Any rooted Android device with a 3G antenna can be used to tether via the WiFi tethering app in my signature.
  4. Junior Droid
    helinut's Avatar
    Member #
    64351
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Full Time Rver, Home is where I am parked
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 1 and Fascinate
    #3
    I would like to use the Droid as a modem basically that could be hooked to the Wan port of my Linksys router. If the Droid can be a hot spot than that would work. I am close to attempting to root just doing my research up front.

    As you can see I am a novice at this.
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #4
    Point 1, no. Point two, yes. Follow link two in my sig.
  6. Junior Droid
    helinut's Avatar
    Member #
    64351
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Full Time Rver, Home is where I am parked
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 1 and Fascinate
    #5
    Thanks, item 2 in your sig is the article I printed out and I have all the files downloaded and prepped in a special folder on my computer.

    I have read the article several times and just need to get the courage to proceed.
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #6
    I had to do it today on a CLN replacement Droid Verizon sent me.

    Took 2 minutes.
  8. Kernel Developer
    prime's Avatar
    Member #
    62737
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,828
    Liked
    90 times
    Twitter
    f1vefour
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus Toro
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    Root droid, install rom manager, flash clockwork mod recovery, nandroid backup, install wifi tether capable kernel, install wifi tether..no router necessary.

    Get a router capable of repeater functionality, something that will run the DD-WRT ★open source firmware★.
  9. Junior Droid
    helinut's Avatar
    Member #
    64351
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Full Time Rver, Home is where I am parked
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 1 and Fascinate
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    I had to do it today on a CLN replacement Droid Verizon sent me.

    Took 2 minutes.
    Thanks for the help, I have rooted my Droid successfully. Not in 2 minutes but in about 15.

    Now I just need to add some apps like WI-FI tether and Backup Titanium.
  10. Droid
    evltwn72's Avatar
    Member #
    105066
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    74
    Phone
    Droid X, rooted stock
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by helinut View Post
    I have been following this forum for a while. I have had a Droid 1 since last April. It is stock. I just purchased a Samsung Fascinate, so I could use it as a Hot spot. I was not aware a 2gig limit came into play when in Hot spot mode. I have read the post on rooting. I have printed the instructions and downloaded all the files.

    I want to root my Droid so that it can either be hooked to my Linksys router or a Cradle point I would need to buy. Not sure what ROM or Tether program would work.


    I have been successful creating a bridge between my Droid running PDAnet and my Linksys router. Problem is it crashes after about 45 minutes and then I have to delete the bridge and start over. Not a good option for me.

    Moderators feel free to move this if it would be better some where else.

    WayneR
    Just a question...why don't you root your Fascinate instead of going back to the Droid? The Fascinate can be rooted and upgraded to Froyo. You can also install wireless tether, titanium backup and any rooted app.
  11. Junior Droid
    helinut's Avatar
    Member #
    64351
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Full Time Rver, Home is where I am parked
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 1 and Fascinate
    #10
    [COLOR=#000000]
    Quote Originally Posted by evltwn72;1181164 [/COLOR
    Just a question...why don't you root your Fascinate instead of going back to the Droid? The Fascinate can be rooted and upgraded to Froyo. You can also install wireless tether, titanium backup and any rooted app.
    This may be a little long.
    We are full time RVer's. I have been using a MotoSat F1 satellite system (Hughes.net) for the last 10 years. It has worked great connected to a router and providing all my toys internet access. The MotoSat and Hughes.net has been problematic as far as staying connected. Especially in the last few years as the equipment ages. The latest and greatest equipment is about $6000 to replace my aging system. When I bought my Droid last April it was just to replace my old phone. I soon got PDAnet and started using it on my main computer. During this time my LNB and feed horn started to go bad.

    At this point I was relying on the Droid more and more. This did not allow me to keep my 2 HD DVRs and Home theater system connected. So I decide to get a Fascinate (afraid to root my Droid). The Fascinate hotspot mode accomplished this. I thought I was on a unlimited data, not true. It only took me 5 days to exceed the 2gigs Hotspot limit ( I was abusing the new system trying all sorts of things). I typically will stay under the 5gig limit.

    So, on to rooting my Droid. The plan is to allow it to be dedicated to my internet access requirements in the MH. If I was or can connect the Droid to my router. Then all my other equipment can stay connected to the router. When I want to have them connect to the internet I just need to connect the router to the Droid.

    I now plan on using my Fascinate as my daily phone (I really like it). As I become more comfortable with the rooting environment I may root the Fascinate.

    My next steps are to get the WI-FI tethering going and see if my toys will all hookup in ad hock mode.
    Last edited by helinut; 01-11-2011 at 09:57 AM.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid & wireless router??
    By Tlend in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 06:01 AM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 01:38 PM
  3. Connect a Droid 2 to a wireless router
    By pjbodie in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 07:13 AM
  4. Droid and Wireless-N Router
    By Sweet Kitten Feet in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 04:46 PM
  5. Can I use my Droid as a Router?
    By craigtaz in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 06:51 PM

Search tags for this page

bridge pda net router

,
can tou hook up pdanet to a router
,

droid razr as modem wan router

,

droid x with cradlepoint

,

help connect droid 1 to wifi router wpa4/wpa2psk

,

how to connect a droid razor to cradelpoint mbr 1000

,

how to connect droid to cradlepoint

,
how to connect droid x to cradle router 2012
,

how to connect droidx to cradle router

,

tether clockworkmod tether to wrt router

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+