DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Is It Worth Rooting The Droid 2?

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global

Is It Worth Rooting The Droid 2?

i am very new to rooting and all the stuff about ROMS and stuff like that. i just want to know if it is worth rooting the droid 2? and if so what should i use for reference and what should i put on it? and how much of a possibility is there that i could "brick" my phone?

3. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    81 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    In my opinion its not worth having a droid 2 unless its rooted. Blur was extremely laggy for the short time i used it and the phone improves in just about every way after rooting and flashing roms. Its extremely easy to root most phones now especially the droid 2 with an app called z4root which is in the market. I would suggest reading up on what exactly rooting is to make sure it is right for you. Most of the information you need should be in the droid hacks section and droid 2 hacks section. Good luck! Feel free to pm me with any questions you may have.
  4. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Droid X
    Yeah, z4root is the best way to go. After that I would highly recommend checking out teamdefuse.com and installing the Fission ROM, which is a great AOSP/stock-like ROM that is customizable. You'll have to make a small donation (with a price you can specify) in order to receive the Fission ROM Manager, but it is definitely more than worth the effort.
  5. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    81 times
    Phone
    Moto X