DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to make backup before z4 root

  1. Droid
    joshtb86's Avatar
    Member #
    106043
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    How to make backup before z4 root

    Sorry for the newb question but I wanted to z4 root the phone (droid 2) and I read you should make a backup image before doing so. I've read a couple of the stickies but am completely confused as to how to go about it. Anyone able to help me out?

    Also, if im just planning on using autokiller and maybe titanium backup to freeze some bloatware, do I need to backup? Is it necessary?

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,334
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #2
    not really useful before root. it either works or it doesnt and wont change anything really.

    u can use bootstrap to make a backup after root then delete/freezw what you want
  4. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by joshtb86 View Post
    Sorry for the newb question but I wanted to z4 root the phone (droid 2) and I read you should make a backup image before doing so. I've read a couple of the stickies but am completely confused as to how to go about it. Anyone able to help me out?

    Also, if im just planning on using autokiller and maybe titanium backup to freeze some bloatware, do I need to backup? Is it necessary?

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    This is because z4Root roots differently then some of the other devices we have used in the past. I never made a back up using z4Root and I've used it 3 times. I recently had an opportunity to try out a system update. I added the bootstrap and before I updated I made a back up because bootstrap uses clockwork. Now remember, I was already rooted. After I tried the update I decided to restore my backup and that caused me some issues.

    To make a long story short, IMHO you don't need a back up using z4Root. If you want to add a Custom ROM after you rooted then by all means do a back up.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Droid
    joshtb86's Avatar
    Member #
    106043
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    so if im just gonna use it to use something like autokiller or titanium backup, i dont need to save a backup before hand? im not planning on switching roms or flashing or anything like that
  6. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,334
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
  7. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by joshtb86 View Post
    so if im just gonna use it to use something like autokiller or titanium backup, i dont need to save a backup before hand? im not planning on switching roms or flashing or anything like that
    That's how I do it, but don't waste your time with autokiller. It's a placebo, imho.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  8. Droid
    joshtb86's Avatar
    Member #
    106043
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Autokiller doesn't work? Why not?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help. I didnt make a nandroid backup!
    By snowboarding1236 in forum Droid 2 FAQ
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 02:49 AM
  2. Can't make Nandroid Backup via Clockwork 2.5.0.1
    By lexxon in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 07:35 AM
  3. Wanting to root. But wheres the one click root for droid to make it easier?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 10:13 PM
  4. Help! Can't Make Backup
    By Tallica in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 09:05 PM

Search tags for this page

backup droid 2 before root
,
do i need z4root before
,
droid x backup before root
,
review z4root
,
reviews on z4root
,
z4 roo
,

z4 root review

,
z4 root reviews
,

z4root review

,

z4root reviews

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+