DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: can I install the recent (Dec 2010) OTA update while rooted?

  1. Junior Droid
    upjeeper's Avatar
    Member #
    67589
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    madison, wi
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    thunderbolt
    #1

    can I install the recent (Dec 2010) OTA update while rooted?

    my phone has wanted to install the over the air update but doesn't seem to be able to. I rooted about a month ago.

    Do I need to unroot to do this install?

    I did search and was unable to come up with any detail.

    Thanks much
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #2
    Yup, you sure can.

    You didn't ask how so I'm sure you know how.

    Yeah, I'm a jerk, wanna fight about it?

    How did you root?
  4. Junior Droid
    upjeeper's Avatar
    Member #
    67589
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    madison, wi
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    thunderbolt
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Yup, you sure can.

    You didn't ask how so I'm sure you know how.

    Yeah, I'm a jerk, wanna fight about it?

    How did you root?

    damn... guess i should have been more specific...
    i'd love to know how please and thank you.

    how did I root. uh. crap. I transferred the "install.zip" file over and ran that. I'm not too swift when it comes to my droid.
    is there more info that would help?
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #4
    I asked about the rooting method because how you did it will tell me how I can help you get the update.

    And I'm guessing the Family Guy reference didn't register, which means you're probably not a Family Guy fan, which means you have some taste -- I like that. So you have my apologies for any offense I might have given. Also, the more specific you can be about whatever problem you're having and what you want to get for help the more specific the answers can be and the faster we can fix your problem.

    So you used Motocache1's rooting method? Link two in my signature.
  6. Junior Droid
    upjeeper's Avatar
    Member #
    67589
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    madison, wi
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    thunderbolt
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    I asked about the rooting method because how you did it will tell me how I can help you get the update.

    And I'm guessing the Family Guy reference didn't register, which means you're probably not a Family Guy fan, which means you have some taste -- I like that. So you have my apologies for any offense I might have given. Also, the more specific you can be about whatever problem you're having and what you want to get for help the more specific the answers can be and the faster we can fix your problem.

    So you used Motocache1's rooting method? Link two in my signature.
    ahh. it's all coming back to me.

    1. did not pick up on the family guy reference, i tried to get into that show, but man... just can not do it. My wife may argue with you about my taste, being an engineer i tend to find humor in places I should, or not see it in places I should.
    wasn't offended, i appreciate the attempt at humor. no worries at all.

    2. Yes, I used Motocache1's methor to root, that is correct. Thanks by the way, I was searching and searching to try to remember how in the heck I did my room.

    3. CURRENT STATUS - My phone (original Droid, running Froyo) appears to have pulled down the new OTA update, and is asking me to install it but when I go to install the update it reboots and goes to the install/reboot/etc screen.
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #6
    I'm not a Family Guy fan but I watch it. Go figure.

    Are you on 22D or 01B for FroYo? If it's 01B you'll probably need to update to 22D before the update will work. If it's 22D then the answer is simple -- download the OTA file manually, put it on the root of your SD card, name it update.zip (sound familiar?), then boot into recovery manually and then tell SPRecovery to allow update.zip install and then install update.zip (deprecated). It should install the OTA file with no problem.

    Then to reroot you'll need to follow Moto's instructions again. No biggie.
  8. Junior Droid
    upjeeper's Avatar
    Member #
    67589
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    madison, wi
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    thunderbolt
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    I'm not a Family Guy fan but I watch it. Go figure.

    Are you on 22D or 01B for FroYo? If it's 01B you'll probably need to update to 22D before the update will work. If it's 22D then the answer is simple -- download the OTA file manually, put it on the root of your SD card, name it update.zip (sound familiar?), then boot into recovery manually and then tell SPRecovery to allow update.zip install and then install update.zip (deprecated). It should install the OTA file with no problem.

    Then to reroot you'll need to follow Moto's instructions again. No biggie.
    Thanks!

    i'm running 22D

    then i need to figure out what to do to make this thing faster. it's so horribly slow...
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    Custom ROM will set you right up with speed, believe me. Don't need to update to get that ROM, though. Just flash it now.
  10. Junior Droid
    upjeeper's Avatar
    Member #
    67589
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    madison, wi
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    thunderbolt
    #9
    thanks, i installed Bugless beast last night and seems to work great
  11. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #10
    I hope you're running the latest version with the bug-fixes.

    Hard to name something Bugless if you have bugs, but... I'm not the one who named it.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. does it really matter if we have the most recent update since......
    By chefb in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 06:41 AM
  2. recent update
    By frmBBzero2dro1dher0 in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 07:14 AM
  3. If I install the 2.2 update over a rooted phone with a custome ROM
    By jim_stem in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 12:27 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 10:43 PM
  5. Recent ota update, who's got it?
    By neemo6 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 09:04 AM

Search tags for this page

can i do an ota update while rooted
,
can i install a ota with a rooted phone
,

can i receive an ota update while rooted?

,
can you install an att update if your rooted
,
can you install an ota update over a rooted rom?
,
can you install an ota update while running a custom rom
,

can you update while rooted

,
can you update your phone if it's rooted
,
over the air up date if phone is rooted x2
,

update to 4.1 while running custom rom

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+