DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: unable to open adb

  1. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #1

    unable to open adb

    I have the sdk thing installed, but when i click on 'adb' it just flies through the screen and closes..am i going to the right file?? i'm going to:

    android-sdk-windows\tools
  2. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #2
    Uc,

    adb is not used in Widows (gui) per say. It is a command line function that is used by the "Run" command on your computer, which brings up a windows "box" from where the commands are run. In Widows (not sure about 7), click start, then run. When the widows box (window) opens type cmd. Then you use the cd command to path to your android-sdk-windows/tools subdirectory, using the window that is open to execute your adb commands. You just need to understand that when doing all of this root "stuff', you need a little ability with non-gui "command line prompts". For the PC side, Dos Command Line Prompts. On the phone, Linux/Unix commands.

    Craig
  3. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #3
    ok cool i got it. i'm trying to install busybox now and i keep getting an operation not permitted when i type in: mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
  4. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #4
    This is on page 4 of this forum. Rather than trying to walk you through from my side, this should cover all the bases. Right now it sounds to me you are at the "enable usb debugging mode on your phone" step, but I am just a newb trying to help.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...s-options.html


    Craig
  5. Master Droid
    mammlouk's Avatar
    Member #
    15042
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    316
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Did you execute the command "su" first? You need to be using your elevated (root) permissions to (re)mount devices.
  6. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #6
    i just restarted the phone, then it started asking me for permissions when i was typing commands in the command prompt

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to send pictures
    By medtiger in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 01:31 PM
  2. Unable to send pictureswith MMS
    By MdicnMan in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 12:31 PM
  3. Unable to vibrate SMS and Gmail
    By mattgew in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 01:14 PM
  4. Unable to unlock my phone. Ugh!
    By tommyrxc in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 02:30 PM
  5. Unable to start WiFi
    By ecam in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 11:40 AM

Search tags for this page

adb closes

,

adb closes immediately

,

adb keeps closing

,

adb opens and closes

,

adb opens then closes

,
adb runs then closes
,

how to open adb

,
it is impossible to start adb
,
open adb
,

unable to run adb

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+