DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: [Help] Unable to Flash ROMs properly

  1. Junior Droid
    Vice's Avatar
    Member #
    146176
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    [Help] Unable to Flash ROMs properly

    To explain, thoroughly, I'm using a Droid 2 Global, recently rooted. Everything aside from flashing works just fine, but when Clockword becomes involved it's simply impossible.

    Problem List:

    1. Clockwork only reboots 1/4 of the way before returning to normal boot. From what I've read it's a common problem and it's understandable. I've tried the most common practices to fix the problem but nothing works. I'm unable to change builds on ROM Manager, or download ROMs from its UI, ROM Manager is basically a lost cause for me. Using Bootstrap should do the trick, however that leads into problem 2.

    2. After flashing ROMs like Fission 2.2.2 and Super Clean ROM from Angdroid the phone reboots per request from clockwordmod recovery but is stuck in Airplane Mode. Simply put I CAN install ROMs on my Droid 2, but they are stuck in Airplane Mode after booting up. Without service I obviously can't do anything.

    To sum it up, is there a way to flash these ROMs correctly without the Airplane mode problem, or am I simply doing something wrong in the process? As far as I know I've followed all instructions to the letter, so this shouldn't be a constant problem.
  2. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    Are you wiping the data before installing?

    DroidForums junkie!!
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  3. Junior Droid
    Vice's Avatar
    Member #
    146176
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    Yes, both factory data and cache were wiped, both before and after install.
  4. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Why would you need to wipe data after flashing?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vice View Post
    Yes, both factory data and cache were wiped, both before and after install.


    DroidForums junkie!!
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  5. Junior Droid
    Vice's Avatar
    Member #
    146176
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    Because I've done the process with simply wiping it only once, and that failed multiple times.

    After reading a topic about "Good ROM Flashing Practices" that stated that successful ROM flashing for that person involved doing it before and after, I tried that as well.

    Obviously neither options have done anything for me.
  6. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #6
    Hmmm...never heard of that. I wipe data and cache 3 times each before installing a ROM and don't wipe again until I'm getting ready to flash a different ROM.

    DroidForums junkie!!
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  7. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    What version of CW are you on?
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  8. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    Droid 2 Global.

    Bootstrapper working alright?
  9. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #9
    +1! Spaz and I think that's what the issue is. He also pointed out that the ROM in question isn't available for the D2G.

    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Droid 2 Global.

    Bootstrapper working alright?


    DroidForums junkie!!
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  10. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #10
    Don't flash a ROM not for the D2G onto a D2G! The system versions won't match and you'll probably brick the phone!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How To Properly Root and Install Roms
    By jseiser in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 04:21 AM
  2. Flash not working properly i believe?
    By aircrew85 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 11:53 PM
  3. Unable to flash droid 2.2
    By G8GT594 in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 11:34 AM
  4. Unable to flash due to OS issues?
    By Dr0idev118 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2010, 08:00 PM
  5. How to properly theme ROMs using a vendor overlay
    By koush in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 05:18 PM

Search tags for this page

how to flash and root droid 2 global

,
how to flash droid 2 global with rom manager
,
unable to flash rom incredible 2
,
unable to flash rom on incredible 2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+