DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: DROID not as fast anymore...any suggestions?

  1. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #11
    I prefer to nuke the dalvik cache from the Rom Manager recovery menu. I do this as often as I remember, and always while in recovery doing other "things". Makes a BIG difference at times. There is a market ap called cachemate that appears to do the same thing, actually reporting the amount of liberated memory.

    Craig
  2. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #12
    +1 for Cache Mate and recovery! I usually delete the dalvik-cache folders in /data and /cache then reboot into recovery (SP) and clear it there too!

    Quote Originally Posted by Bear in NM View Post
    I prefer to nuke the dalvik cache from the Rom Manager recovery menu. I do this as often as I remember, and always while in recovery doing other "things". Makes a BIG difference at times. There is a market ap called cachemate that appears to do the same thing, actually reporting the amount of liberated memory.

    Craig


    DroidForums junkie!
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  3. Senior Droid
    Benny's Avatar
    Member #
    33559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    110
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by tp76 View Post
    As far as the redraw script...get a terminal emulator from the Market and follow these instructions


    Here -
    In a terminal type

    su and enter
    Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter
    Then type reboot and enter


    Make sure the spaces are where you see them...for example after the two > there is a space before the /
    I did this on my droid and it did not fix the redraw problem. I'm running bb 0.5, and I have the stock launcher. Anything else I can do to fix it?
  4. Developer Relations
    tp7six's Avatar
    Member #
    61666
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11,512
    Liked
    361 times
    Twitter
    DroidForums
    Phone
    [MDK] S4
    Premium Member
    #14
    Try using a third party launcher like Launcher Pro and see if it helps

  5. Droid Sensei
    SSHGuru's Avatar
    Member #
    7987
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    3,844
    Liked
    110 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #15
    How about Cache Cleaner? Seems to work well.
  6. Droid Sensei
    SSHGuru's Avatar
    Member #
    7987
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    3,844
    Liked
    110 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #16
    Do you check power clear when you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bear in NM View Post
    I prefer to nuke the dalvik cache from the Rom Manager recovery menu. I do this as often as I remember, and always while in recovery doing other "things". Makes a BIG difference at times. There is a market ap called cachemate that appears to do the same thing, actually reporting the amount of liberated memory.

    Craig
  7. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #17
    been stated... but an OC kernel... maybe try some other ROMs... might see a significant improvement.
  8. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #18
    If you're still on BB 2.1 then you're WAY behind the times.

    The latest CM nightlies are blazing fast and stable and word is that the 6.1 Final dropped tonight but won't boot for some reason.
  9. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by SSHGuru View Post
    Do you check power clear when you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bear in NM View Post
    I prefer to nuke the dalvik cache from the Rom Manager recovery menu. I do this as often as I remember, and always while in recovery doing other "things". Makes a BIG difference at times. There is a market ap called cachemate that appears to do the same thing, actually reporting the amount of liberated memory.

    Craig
    Absolutely, and I have see no negative consequences other than a little longer reboot as the cache has to be rebuilt.

    Craig
  10. ocdrummer2011's Avatar
    Member #
    46136
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by tp76 View Post
    Dalvik-Cache is where applications store excess information - if you have Root Explorer open it and go into the data folder and delete the Dalvik-Cache folder by longpressing it and then reboot - upon rebooting the system will rewrite the dalvik-cache folder but the unecessary things will be left out, speeding up your device tremendously...this should be done every month or so
    Quote Originally Posted by tp76 View Post
    As far as the redraw script...get a terminal emulator from the Market and follow these instructions


    Here -
    In a terminal type

    su and enter
    Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter
    Then type reboot and enter


    Make sure the spaces are where you see them...for example after the two > there is a space before the /

    In the least gayest way possible...I love you man lol. Really improved my phones performance. Thanks....

    One more quick question. When changing themes, what's the best way to clear off an old theme. So I don't install a theme over a theme?
    FROYO BB 0.2.1
    (Customized Theme)
    P3's 1100 Kernal
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot Showoff Droid Anymore
    By datacreek in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 03-19-2011, 12:03 PM
  2. can I zoom in anymore with 2.2 droid?
    By faithmusic in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 09:48 AM
  3. Droid 1 now isn't recognized by PC anymore
    By pattyk999 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 04:35 PM
  4. How fast is your Droid?
    By yhbae in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 08:24 AM
  5. Fast Phones, Fast Bikes
    By KAWIZX10R in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 10:43 PM

Search tags for this page

defrag a droid
,
defrag android
,

defrag droid x

,

defragment android

,

defragment android phone

,
how to defrag a droid
,
how to defrag an android phone
,

how to defrag android phone

,
how to defrag my android phone
,

how to make my droid fast again

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+