DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: ADB tools?

  1. Junior Droid
    king's Avatar
    Member #
    16403
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    ADB tools?

    can someone please tell me how i am supposed to cd to the tools directory? it keeps telling me not found and also adb push is not found. all of this is for a custom boot animation but i can not seem to get away from this and i know it is an easy fix.
  2. Droid
    LosAngeles's Avatar
    Member #
    2315
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by king View Post
    can someone please tell me how i am supposed to cd to the tools directory? it keeps telling me not found and also adb push is not found. all of this is for a custom boot animation but i can not seem to get away from this and i know it is an easy fix.

    from command prompt in windows you type the command

    cd c:\android\tools.. or change that to where you have yours saved

    then you should be able to use adb shell
  3. Junior Droid
    king's Avatar
    Member #
    16403
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3

    still dont work

    Quote Originally Posted by LosAngeles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by king View Post
    can someone please tell me how i am supposed to cd to the tools directory? it keeps telling me not found and also adb push is not found. all of this is for a custom boot animation but i can not seem to get away from this and i know it is an easy fix.

    from command prompt in windows you type the command

    cd c:\android\tools.. or change that to where you have yours saved

    then you should be able to use adb shell
    i just did that and it told me that the system cannot find the specified file. lol this is rediculous, i am going to try and get droid explorer i guess...
  4. Junior Droid
    stuckonashelf's Avatar
    Member #
    1296
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #4
    have you downloaded the android sdk? you have to have that downloaded onto windows first, then you will have an adb tools directory on your system.
  5. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #5
    King,

    There is an easier way to deal with moving the files, if you are willing to spend the pennies on the Root Explorer app. You can bypass adb by using the pc and generic mount process like you use for moving music or images to the sd card. Mount the sd card by toggling the mount switch on the phone when you plug into your usb on the pc. Move the bootanimation.zip to the sd card root with your windows cut/paste. Unmount the phone from the PC. Using Root Explorer, move or copy paste from sd card to /data/local. Done.

    And in general Root Explorer is a very powerful tool that lets you do things without doing or understanding the Linux in adb or Busybox or your phones native Linux commands.

    Craig
  6. Beta Team
    JonKyu's Avatar
    Member #
    4977
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Provo, UT
    Posts
    2,398
    Phone
    DROID X
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckonashelf View Post
    have you downloaded the android sdk? you have to have that downloaded onto windows first, then you will have an adb tools directory on your system.
    This is weird, I was trying to use it also but the only "adb" I have in my tools directory is a Unix Executable (I'm on a mac). I thought I installed the SDK correctly as I am able to take screenshots (well atleast I tried to following the directions on Googles setup page). can you only access it when your droid's plugged in? Does it need to be rooted?
  7. Droid
    bmore's Avatar
    Member #
    24520
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    Verizon ThunderBolt
    #7
    yes i also wanna know if you can follow those steps without being rooted.
  8. Master Droid
    blake2050's Avatar
    Member #
    24519
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    342
    Phone
    moto droid
    #8
    @ JonKyu and KING do this:

    1. copy the entire folder where your tools is located (eg. android/tools you would copy the android folder)
    2. paste it into your C:\ drive
    3. Open command prompt (run > cmd > enter) and type this
    cd \android\tools (this should give you a command prompt of C:\android\tools>)
    4. now type in adb. You should get a list of all adb commands. (if so then sdk is up and running and you are "CD'd" to the tools directory)
    5. Now do whatever it is you are trying to do.

    NOTE: I dont believe you need a rooted phone to do push/pull commands (i could be wrong) BUT you will need to be rooted in order to run adb shell 'SU'
    Last edited by blake2050; 01-13-2010 at 07:23 PM.
  9. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #9
    And remember, on the phone USB Debugging mode on, and the sd card not Mounted by your pc.

    Craig
  10. Droid
    bmore's Avatar
    Member #
    24520
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    Verizon ThunderBolt
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by blake2050 View Post
    @ JonKyu do this:

    1. copy the entire folder where your tools is located (eg. android/tools you would copy the android folder)
    2. paste it into your C:\ drive
    3. Open command prompt (run > cmd > enter) and type this
    cd \android\tools (this should give you a command prompt of C:\android\tools>)
    4. now type in adb. You should get a list of all adb commands. (if so then sdk is up and running and you are "CD'd" to the tools directory)
    5. Now do whatever it is you are trying to do.

    NOTE: I dont believe you need a rooted phone to do push/pull commands (i could be wrong) BUT you will need to be rooted in order to run adb shell 'SU'
    I did all this, now what?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. DROID - Motorola Phone Tools Compatibility
    By JimMariner in forum Droid FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 07:22 PM
  2. 'Office Tools'?
    By Riverview in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 03:53 PM
  3. Motorola Phone Tools
    By pilot25 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 10:09 PM

Search tags for this page

adb directory
,

adb tool

,

adb tools

,

adb tools directory

,

adb tools folder

,
adb tools taringa
,
adb-tools
,
cd to your adb tools directory
,
where is adb tools folder
,
where is the adb tools folder
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+