DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VZW offered a FRU Droid 2 to replace Droid 1 for FRU issues, should I take?

  1. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #1

    VZW offered a FRU Droid 2 to replace Droid 1 for FRU issues, should I take?

    Ok, the title states. I called VZW after getting 3 FRU Droid 1's that were defective (very loose screen, foul odor, pieces of junk in phone, etc) and said is there anywhere in ANY warehouse a NEW Droid 1 could be send. The nice Tech Rep looked in the system and said well don't have a new Droid 1 but we can send you a FRU Droid 2. I know the issues with the 2. Issues with REAL Nandroid backups, rooting, MOTO-BLUR . I must be crazy and probably most think I am. I'd rather have a NEW Droid 1 then even a NEW Droid 2. Thanks to Motorola's LOCKED BOOT LOADER and crappy MOTO BLUR. Anyway. Should I take it? I can't keep swapping Droid 1's. I like the faster phone of the 2. But I really love my 1. So if anyone can help shed some light and tell me how I can get root and a rom installed on the Droid 2. How I can backup (even if somewhat). I'm so on the fence. I want a new phone like the 2. But love the unlocked, blur-less Droid 1. So any help is welcomed. Like I said most will say I'm crazy. But I just need advise on taking the Droid 2 or trying again with a Droid 1. Sorry if I'm rambling or repeating my self.

    Thanks!
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  2. Senior Droid
    devinhfox's Avatar
    Member #
    6551
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    231
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #2
    I went through same thing, I chose the droid 2.
    Verizon's certified like new warranty replacements are a joke. They lose credibility for that bs. One of the phones they sent me reset every 5 minutes, regardless of temperature or workload.

    Anyway, motoblur ain't bad. I like the universal inbox. Not as hackable, but a phone with 512 ram (double droid1) is very nice.
    D2: Apex 2.0.0 (give me back my green notification light!!!)
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #3
    Both are rootable, overclockable (though the D1 is a LOT easier to overclock), and quality pieces of hardware. However, if your'e used to the D1 you might want to drop ADW or LP on a D2 as soon as you get it so you don't have to learn how to deal with Blur.

    Personally I'd go for the D2 at this point if I had to choose between a crappy D1 and a new D2.

    And for rooting there are multiple options and I can link you to your choice of rooting methods. If you wish to ROM it I have a link to that very thing as well.
  4. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #4
    The d2 is only failing on the hackability at the moment, but devs are working around the blur, and even making roms with blur that run better than stock due to deflation. The younger brother is not complete crap and the older brother is phased out as seen by the fact that only crap is left on the shelves. Take the offer. Enjoy the slow and bumpy ride like the rest of us.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by gunz.jones View Post
    The d2 is only failing on the hackability at the moment, but devs are working around the blur, and even making roms with blur that run better than stock due to deflation. The younger brother is not complete crap and the older brother is phased out as seen by the fact that only crap is left on the shelves. Take the offer. Enjoy the slow and bumpy ride like the rest of us.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    Upside for the Droid 2 I can run a REAL FM Radio. For that I'd take Blur in a NY min. I'm a sucker for REAL FM Radio. But I guess I will try it. I asked the rep. She thought I was nuts most likely. If I didn't like the Droid 2 could I keep what I have. She said yes. Of course the D2 offer would be off the table. I just want Root access. ability to backup then restore if I move to another D2. BTW I'm also guessing I can't restore my nandroid backups to the D2 can I. It's a FRU D2. But the rep even stated since it's so new chances are it will be in better condition. If the Droid 2 was the Droid 1 but faster this would not even be discussed. But it's not.

    BTW, I don't want the "universal inbox". Can I still use Handcent SMS and have Gmail app. I want my current launcher. Launcher Pro because my icons and such are just the way I like them. I'm picky what can I say. I just wish the D1 was still available new. my oh my don't I ever. It hasn't even been a full year (til next week)
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  6. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #6
    The fm radio off xda works. Just get all the permissions right before install and have a ball. Need to be in an area with good radio waves though or use a 30 foot headphone cord.

    Edit: You can use handcent in place of stock and you can use just the gmail app or yahoo app. The universal thing is not required. Just don't add accounts to it when it asks other than gmail.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. Master Droid
    FranklinWalker's Avatar
    Member #
    114680
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    428
    Phone
    iphone
    #7
    i think you can take it
    my new love-Droid
  8. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by gunz.jones View Post
    The fm radio off xda works. Just get all the permissions right before install and have a ball. Need to be in an area with good radio waves though or use a 30 foot headphone cord.

    Edit: You can use handcent in place of stock and you can use just the gmail app or yahoo app. The universal thing is not required. Just don't add accounts to it when it asks other than gmail.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    Small question about the FM radio. Can it be used via the ext speaker?
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  9. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #9
    It is supposed to, but I haven't gotten it to work. The loudspeaker option doesn't seem to bypass the 3.5.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by gunz.jones View Post
    It is supposed to, but I haven't gotten it to work. The loudspeaker option doesn't seem to bypass the 3.5.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    Hey man you've been a great help. I sent you a friend request. hope you can help if needed when I get the 2. Thanks!

    I was afraid of that. I'm hoping that will be fixed for the FM radio.
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How do you replace the screen on a Droid X?
    By PF76 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 06:57 PM
  2. What is best droid offered by verizon
    By dw1256 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 08:23 PM
  3. replace droid headphone jack myself?
    By searayman in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 08:17 PM
  4. Just ordered a Droid to replace my 3GS.
    By BoomerFZ1 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 07:46 AM
  5. Anyone use VZW/Asurian to replace their Droid yet?
    By pudah in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 11:17 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 1 defective audio jack
,
droid 3 fru
,
droid bionic speaker system replacement
,
fru in android?
,
replacing the droid incredibe antenna jadk
,

verizon fru

,
verizon fru incredible
,
verizon replaced my droid 2 with a droid 3
,
will verizon replace a defective droid pro?
,
will verizon replace my droid with a droid 3
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+