DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Yahoomail synced with droid?

  1. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    Yahoomail synced with droid?

    Hello, new Droid user here,

    I am trying to "sync" my yahoomail account to the mail Icon, I have seen the video and tried several times and keep getting a "login or password incorrect' error message over and over. I have gone and triple checked my info and it is correct but it will not let me passed the imap part of the set up after hitting next. Any help would be appreciated.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    uscjoel's Avatar
    Member #
    10225
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    123
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    Cant do it without the paid version of Yahoo mail.
  4. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #3
    Not doubting you, but I have read several places that you DO NOT need the paid version of Yahoomail.
  5. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #4
    What are the setting are you using? I have it working without the Yahoo Plus.
  6. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #5
    Hmm, I used the settings that is on the video from Rob. I put the imap at imap.mail.yahoo.com and the port to 143, then hit next and it comes up with the user message saying it is the wrong username or password.
  7. Master Droid
    Laurence5905's Avatar
    Member #
    11517
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    324
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    #6
    Make sure you're using pop.mail.yahoo.com as your mail server. Also try port# 995 if port# 143 isn't working.

    There are some people, for whatever reason, that can access their Yahoo mail through the pop server without paying for the Premium mail service. I do not know why it works for some, but not for others, but it is a known issue. You may just be one of the unlucky ones who it won't work for without paying for their Premium service.

    Now, if you ARE paying for their Premium e-mail service, then you have the right to tech-support from Yahoo. Explain your problem to them, and maybe they can figure out where it's going wrong.

    EDIT: Also, CNet has posted a video on how to forward Yahoo mail to your GMail account for free. It may or may not work for you, and it's potentially not a very elegant solution (if their first suggestion doesn't work for you, then you have to do some pretty ugly work-arounds). But maybe you'll want to give it a try anyway...
    Videos - Free video downloads and streaming video - CNET TV
    Last edited by Laurence5905; 12-16-2009 at 04:26 PM.
    Laurence MacNeill
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
  8. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #7
    Ok, here's the skinny,

    I went in and check the settings on my account and have been trying for over 24 hours to do it, so I bucked up and paid the $20 for the year and it worked perfectly the first time, I suppose there will be a fix in the future and I can cancel and be paid back the unused portion. I figure i lose $2 bucks a month so it was worth it. Thanks for all the quick replies.
  9. Master Droid
    Donkey Hodie's Avatar
    Member #
    6366
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    256
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    I've been using it unpaid for about 2 weeks and it works perfectly. I followed the instructions here to the letter and it works. Note that others who claim to have done the same say it doesn't. Not sure why I'm lucky but this seems to be a rare case where I am.

    Hope this helps.
  10. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by FireDroid View Post
    Not doubting you, but I have read several places that you DO NOT need the paid version of Yahoomail.
    Let's put it this way: it's not guaranteed to work without the paid version. It worked for me, stopped working, started working again after 2.0.1 and then stopped again.
  11. Junior Droid
    gonzilla's Avatar
    Member #
    3596
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    5
    #10
    It worked for me using the IMAP server at port 143... but if I sent anything from my handset it would put multiple copies of it in my sent box (about one copy every 15 minutes or so). Even if I deleted the sent messages, the next time I checked, more would appear. I finally had to delete the account from my Droid to get it to stop after deleting thousands of duplicate sent messages. What a pain.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Facebook profile photo synced to contacts?
    By xxnonamexx in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-13-2010, 04:25 AM
  2. yahoomail issue solved!
    By mrtosh in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 05:24 AM
  3. Messengers synced with contacts
    By Droidlicous in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 10:44 AM
  4. I must be synced somehow...
    By pmracing in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 08:08 PM
  5. Cannot Voice Dial Synced Contacts from Exchange
    By Vancelot in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 06:46 PM

Search tags for this page

android won't sync yahoo contacts

,

android yahoo mail won't sync#gsc.tab

,
changed yahoo password and android won't sync
,
changed yahoo password android won't sync
,

changed yahoo password on droid bionic and now it won't sync

,
driod wont let me sncy yahoo mail
,
droid will not let me sync yahoo contacts
,

droid yahoo won't sync says wrong password

,
had to change yahoo password now email won't sync to droid x
,
motorola droid x2 yahoo imap not syncing correctly
,
some yahoo contacts won't sync android
,
stop yahoo contact sync to andr
,

yahoo contacts won't sync android

,

yahoo contacts won't sync with android

,
yahoo mail won't sync with android after password change
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+