DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Using the Volume Rocker to Switch Songs?

  1. Senior Droid
    ezeddiekun's Avatar
    Member #
    10230
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    86
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Using the Volume Rocker to Switch Songs?

    Anyone know how to do this? In other words I want to press and hold the down volume button for it to switch to the next song! I really don't like unlocking the phone and going to the media player just to change the song. Any ideas on how to do this?
  2. Master Droid
    markmicallef's Avatar
    Member #
    7366
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    291
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    How would you adjust the volume, if it was assigned to switching songs? because it is a mechanical switch a long press probable won't work.

    Although I am not an Engineer, so I may be wrong.
    Last edited by markmicallef; 12-15-2009 at 11:02 PM.
    ~Mark

    Samsung Galaxy S III
  3. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #3
    nothing as far as using physical keys for song changes...
  4. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,397
    Liked
    1042 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #4
    great idea, but like the others say, volume would then be a problem.

    i would think the key is just wired to adjust volume, dunno if it'd be able to differentiate from going to max volume or skipping a song via holding it down
  5. Senior Droid
    J-Buck's Avatar
    Member #
    3813
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    233
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible
    #5
    lol i bet u had a blackberry before your Droid
  6. Junior Droid
    sixtytwo's Avatar
    Member #
    15750
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    What about using the camera button? 1 click = play/pause, 2 clicks = next, 3 clicks = previous. That button's not doing anything when the phone is off anyway.

    However, any physical button function modification is going to require some sort of hack, since it's not a preference you can set in a menu, well, at least not one I can find. Now that the droid's been rooted, I'd imagine it's only a matter of time before a solution of some sort surfaces.
  7. Master Droid
    Big Cam's Avatar
    Member #
    2990
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    920
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus: Sourcerized
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by J-Buck View Post
    lol i bet u had a blackberry before your Droid
    I was thinking the same thing.
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    ROM: Team Sourcery!

  8. Senior Droid
    ezeddiekun's Avatar
    Member #
    10230
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    86
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    How do I change what physical buttons do?
  9. Jer
    Jer is offline
    Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #9
    I just can't stand not having a pause or mute button while it's locked. That part I did like about my BB.
  10. Master Droid
    bacalao's Avatar
    Member #
    3014
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    264
    Phone
    DROID
    #10
    On the Storm it was two clicks up or down that would change songs. and the lock button would mute/pause/play sounds or music. This didn't work for streaming radio which is what I mostly do for music.
    That was actually nice, but since I usually use Pandora, not really missing much except the mute button.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How do you add songs to a playlist?
    By darkhawk624 in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 07:15 PM
  2. Volume Rocker Loose....anyone?
    By gmace001 in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 01:07 AM
  3. Loose Volume Rocker and Camera Button?
    By ezeddiekun in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 07:29 AM
  4. Volume button/rocker/key etc
    By icecold in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 10:30 PM
  5. Is anyone else's volume rocker kinda loose?
    By Big D in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 06:06 AM

Search tags for this page

android hold volume to switch track
,

can i use volume rocker to change music

,

can you use volume buttons on droid x to skip songs

,

droid x, make volume buttons skip track

,

hold volume to change song android

,

how to skip media with volume button

,

how to skip tracks using volume button

,

switch song volume key android

,

use volume buttons on android to change songs

,

volume rocker hold to switch song

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+