DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Motorola Droid - Sluggish desktop

  1. Junior Droid
    mpit52's Avatar
    Member #
    118272
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Motorola Droid - Sluggish desktop

    so the other day I noticed that my droid was taking longer to load the app shortcuts on the desktop then normal. I though it could have been related to the latest update of "launcherPro". Since I noticed that the latest firmware update allowed for more then 3 screens, I uninstalled LauncherPro..only this did not resolve the sluggishness of the phone. I looked any any recently installed apps and removed them, hoping it was something related..No luck. I then Tried to clear the cache from all apps....still nothing. I have tried rebooting the phone and still no luck..It basically takes about 5+ seconds for my apps to populate on the desktop of th phone. The only thing I see is the 3 button on the bottom (phone, menu, web). If I try to select the menu button, the app draw opens but there are no apps...after a few seconds (depending on how long I wait to push the menu button) everything shows up. I've had the phone for about 6 months now so I know its not suppose to be this slow...does anyone have an suggestions on how to fix/resolve this.

    ps. The phone is not rooted.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    wawsr's Avatar
    Member #
    75888
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2

    Unhappy Me too

    This is occurring on both my and my wife's phone also - very annoying - also occurs when switching from orientations.
  4. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #3
    Try getting a cache cleaner from the Market and clear the caches in your apps. That should help some.

    Also if either of you are using a task killer or virus protection get rid of it. It's not necessary.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Droid Newbie
    pyroboy's Avatar
    Member #
    43307
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    SAMSUNG NEXUS
    #4
    I had the same problem.
    I switched to ZEAM launcher and now i am back to normal though.
    It is a problem with launcher pro on my d1.
  6. Senior Droid
    Wadman's Avatar
    Member #
    43085
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    125
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note II
    #5
    I have had this problem too. I uninstalled my task manager (which makes me uncomfortable because I've had one on there since I got my phone). This seems to have taken care of the problem. No freezing up or anything for about an hour now....thanks
  7. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #6
    It's my experience that the majority of people who seem to have these slow down issues aren't doing any maintenance on their phone. No maintenance and eventually you will end up doing a factory data reset.

    Cache cleaners are something everyone should have.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  8. Senior Droid
    abraham3660's Avatar
    Member #
    103968
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    123
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Try getting a cache cleaner from the Market and clear the caches in your apps. That should help some.

    Also if either of you are using a task killer or virus protection get rid of it. It's not necessary.
    I stopped using task killers along time ago, but I recently installed lookout and it has anti-virus. Should I disable this feature?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by abraham3660 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Try getting a cache cleaner from the Market and clear the caches in your apps. That should help some.

    Also if either of you are using a task killer or virus protection get rid of it. It's not necessary.
    I stopped using task killers along time ago, but I recently installed lookout and it has anti-virus. Should I disable this feature?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    You can disable it. There is basically no need to worry about virusus on an android phone so an anti-virus program is just wasting resources.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Senior Droid
    Wadman's Avatar
    Member #
    43085
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    125
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note II
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    It's my experience that the majority of people who seem to have these slow down issues aren't doing any maintenance on their phone. No maintenance and eventually you will end up doing a factory data reset.

    Cache cleaners are something everyone should have.
    When I go to the market to download a cache cleaner there are only 5 that come up. Is there one in particular that you would suggest. I was starting to worry that my phone was just getting old because it was really slowing down. I'm sure I need to clean it up......
  11. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Wadman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    It's my experience that the majority of people who seem to have these slow down issues aren't doing any maintenance on their phone. No maintenance and eventually you will end up doing a factory data reset.

    Cache cleaners are something everyone should have.
    When I go to the market to download a cache cleaner there are only 5 that come up. Is there one in particular that you would suggest. I was starting to worry that my phone was just getting old because it was really slowing down. I'm sure I need to clean it up......
    Well, I use Quick App Clean Cache. It works for both rooted and non rooted phones. You can easily see if an app needs cache cleaned if you are not rooted. Stock phones cache needs to be cleaned one app at a time.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola Multimedia Desktop Charger
    By dloggans in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 10:14 AM
  2. Sedio Case w/Motorola Multimedia Desktop Charger
    By lesisk in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 08:11 AM
  3. droid running sluggish
    By drikus in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 02:09 PM
  4. Replies: 37
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 05:04 AM

Search tags for this page

android desktop slow
,

droid desktop slow

,
droid slow desktop
,
moto droid desktop slow
,
motorola droid 3 slow desktop load
,
motorola droid is sluggish
,
motorola droid slow sluggish
,
motorola droid slow to load apps on menue
,

motorola droid sluggish

,
slow to return to desktop android
,
sluggish motorola droid
,
why does my android desktop take so long to load
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+