DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Swype Update

  1. Master Droid
    dolpns13's Avatar
    Member #
    67076
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jersey
    Posts
    416
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Swype Update

    Hello.. Let me start by saying I have a rooted droid. Swype sent an email to me saying they now have an updated version of swype and went through the steps on how to install it. They first said I had to uninstall my current version of swype - which I did. When I went to the site to install the update, it will not allow my to install the package because the website does not recognize that I have an android phone - I assume this is because I am rooted. Well now because I uninstalled it, I have no swype, and cant install the update.

    Does anyone know how I can get my swype back, or install the updated version? This totally sucks. I hate the default keyboard - it freaks out on me.

    Please help.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    cloud12077's Avatar
    Member #
    46974
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    246
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    SCH-i515 - Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by dolpns13 View Post
    Hello.. Let me start by saying I have a rooted droid. Swype sent an email to me saying they now have an updated version of swype and went through the steps on how to install it. They first said I had to uninstall my current version of swype - which I did. When I went to the site to install the update, it will not allow my to install the package because the website does not recognize that I have an android phone - I assume this is because I am rooted. Well now because I uninstalled it, I have no swype, and cant install the update.

    Does anyone know how I can get my swype back, or install the updated version? This totally sucks. I hate the default keyboard - it freaks out on me.

    Please help.
    Check your private messeges
  4. Droid Ninja
    LifeIsABeach's Avatar
    Member #
    359
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    2 times
    #3
    It is not because you have a rooted phone. It is because your browser is set to a User Agent of Computer or Desktop rather than Android. Change that and the install should work. It did for me.
  5. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by LifeIsABeach View Post
    It is not because you have a rooted phone. It is because your browser is set to a User Agent of Computer or Desktop rather than Android. Change that and the install should work. It did for me.
    My UA string on my browser is set as "Desktop"

    I have a rooted phone and Swype's website had no problem identifying my phone as Android.
  6. Master Droid
    dolpns13's Avatar
    Member #
    67076
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jersey
    Posts
    416
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by LifeIsABeach View Post
    It is not because you have a rooted phone. It is because your browser is set to a User Agent of Computer or Desktop rather than Android. Change that and the install should work. It did for me.
    you are totally right.. my user agent is set to desktop.. thanks for the heads up!
  7. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by dolpns13 View Post
    They first said I had to uninstall my current version of swype - which I did.
    Make sure you remove the Swype Installer as well or you'll have problems installing the update.
  8. Master Droid
    dolpns13's Avatar
    Member #
    67076
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dirty Jersey
    Posts
    416
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dolpns13 View Post
    They first said I had to uninstall my current version of swype - which I did.
    Make sure you remove the Swype Installer as well or you'll have problems installing the update.
    yeah, I removed everything. The apps and the files in my file manager
  9. Master Droid
    EbE404's Avatar
    Member #
    39256
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    407
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1- rooted
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by dolpns13 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dolpns13 View Post
    They first said I had to uninstall my current version of swype - which I did.
    Make sure you remove the Swype Installer as well or you'll have problems installing the update.
    yeah, I removed everything. The apps and the files in my file manager
    There is a thread here with some other people having problems and various resolutions:

    Swype Installation Errors in CM6

    Seems there are a variety of routes to get this to work (some seem to work for some, but not all). However, most seem to be able to get it resolved without resorting to voodoo or ritual sacrifice.
    While understanding "How" may get the job done, understanding "Why" will get the job done properly.
  10. Super Moderator/RS
    dlwhtrose's Avatar
    Member #
    14116
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Posts
    2,777
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    TBOLT / Charge
    Premium Member
    #9
    You can have your browser set as desktop all the time and it will not affect swype. The only time you need to set your desktop to Android is while you are downloading and installing the new swype, then you can put it back to desktop and all will be good.

    Also, I had to delete all my prior downloads before the update would work. So go into your downloads folder (using root explorer) and delete all the prior swype downloads.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype not working after last Froyo update
    By tu3218 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 02:32 PM
  2. Android 2.2 update caused my Swype Keyboard to stop working
    By Brian16 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2010, 02:05 PM
  3. anyone have a swype apk or themed swype that works??
    By chris420o in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 01:38 PM
  4. Swype and 2.1 Update
    By arty2hottie in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 12:06 PM

Search tags for this page

add swype back to rooted phone
,
how do i put swype back on my android
,
how do i update swype on androids
,
how to make swype default keyboard
,
how to put swipe back on phone
,
how to put swype back on droid 2
,

how to put swype back on my phone

,

how to put swype back on phone

,
how to put swype back on phone?
,
howto put swype back on my phone
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+