DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remote Desktop Question Please help...

  1. Droid Newbie
    FenomUSA's Avatar
    Member #
    13082
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Remote Desktop Question Please help...

    Hello im not a server guy and im new to the rdp stuff but...

    I run windows vista premium 64bit so i can't host only be a client... but i know there has to be third party programs that are user friendly to become host. I tried that termsrv hack to make my os be able to host like in ultimate but didnt seem to do anything

    Can anybody help me get this setup so i can use remote desktop it would be greatly appreciated...thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    Jeremy556's Avatar
    Member #
    8966
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    139
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    Upgrade or use VNC.
  4. Droid Newbie
    FenomUSA's Avatar
    Member #
    13082
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    Ok i downloaded real vnc and android vnc app..my next problem i think is im at college so there prob blocking port 5900 used for vnc bc it still not connecting...any clue what to do now
  5. Senior Droid
    Jeremy556's Avatar
    Member #
    8966
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    139
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    If your computer is behind NAT, or most firewalls, they are going to block VNC and RDP's ports. You are going to have to use something that originates a connection from your PC to an outside service, that hands off the connection from your mobile device to be able to get through a university's firewall.
  6. Droid Newbie
    FenomUSA's Avatar
    Member #
    13082
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #5
    such as hopster or do you know any programs that will allow me to do this too allow me to get around the firewall and open this port.. thanks for the assistance by the way
  7. Senior Droid
    Bimmerjo's Avatar
    Member #
    10681
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Aurora, MO
    Posts
    122
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    I haven't used the VNC app yet, so i dont' know for sure, but you should be able to changed the ports used by VNC on the host, I always change them to port 22 and then encrypt the connection And if you have access to the firewall, port forwarding goes a long way when connecting from the outside world...
  8. Senior Droid
    Jeremy556's Avatar
    Member #
    8966
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    139
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    I don't know of anything that will do it, though it is a common issue, so I'm sure there are ways.

    Do you have any computers directly connected to the Internet and/or that you have access to the firewall? You could setup a VPN server, probably need a Pro version of a windows client to do that, though.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need an IR remote app
    By jphudy in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 02:00 PM
  2. Remote Desktop Apps?
    By Steveindajeep in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 11:04 PM
  3. NEWB wants to remote desktop. How?
    By michaelg589 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 08:24 PM
  4. Remote Desktop on DROID
    By qube in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 04:52 PM
  5. Remote desktop question
    By leeb4ng in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 02:39 PM

Search tags for this page

droid bionic and windows 7 remote desktop

,

droid verizon blocks rdp port

,

rdp firewall motorola

,

real vnc droid xoom help

,

verizon blocking vnc

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+