DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: can you continue using droid without contract

  1. Droid
    brianes99's Avatar
    Member #
    37411
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    motorola droid through verizon
    #1

    can you continue using droid without contract

    I'm considering an upgrade to a droid x, but i'd like the idea of still using my moto droid 1 both for wireless connection and for gps (geocaching). Is this possible, or will the phone be "locked" without a verizon contract?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    Vulcan1600's Avatar
    Member #
    7183
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,569
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by brianes99 View Post
    I'm considering an upgrade to a droid x, but i'd like the idea of still using my moto droid 1 both for wireless connection and for gps (geocaching). Is this possible, or will the phone be "locked" without a verizon contract?
    It definitely won't work for wireless connection or google maps, because you won't have it assigned to a phone line with a data package. About the best you can do is play music through the music player.

    You said about geocaching - do you use c:geo? I'm an avid geocacher and of the 42 caches I've found since I started in June, there's only 3 caches that have been elusive, and none can be attributed to the Droid. I believe at least 2 of them were "muggled".
    Thank you to all who have served or are serving our great country. You're always in my thoughts and prayers.

    Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. - Ronald Reagan
    --------

  4. Droid
    brianes99's Avatar
    Member #
    37411
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    motorola droid through verizon
    #3
    to use the gps and download map (or even just using radar without map)

    Yes, I use c:geo as my primary program. (also have geobeagle, geohunter and cachemate installed )

    there have been times when all three other programs have failed me and c:geo has been right on target!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 12:50 PM
  2. Droid X 1 Year Contract
    By lcl1127 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 03:57 PM
  3. Droid Incredible Delays Continue
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 02:33 PM
  4. Droid 2yr contract help
    By Liderc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 12:35 AM
  5. No Contract vs 1 year Contract vs 2 year Contract questions.
    By AlphaDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 09:06 AM

Search tags for this page

can continue to use droid without plan

,
can i use a droid 3 without a contract
,

can i use a droid without a contract

,
can you use a droid x without a phone contract?
,
can you use the droid 2 with verizon no contract
,
droid without contract gps
,
droid x has gps without contract?
,
use droid after contract
,

use gps on a droid 3 without a contract

,
using driod without contract
,
using droid without contract
,

verizon droid no contract use

,
will droid 2 still work without contract
,
will droid work without contract
,
without contract
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+